Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Can't play WoW

    This is a discussion on Can't play WoW within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My partner and I are getting desperate. We moved to Sky broadband nearly a year ago (Connect) and have had ...

    1. #1
      Sabrina's Avatar
      Sabrina is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Yeovil
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Yeovil
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't play WoW

      My partner and I are getting desperate. We moved to Sky broadband nearly a year ago (Connect) and have had trouble ever since. We used to be with orange and they were unbundled at our exchange (if that makes sence, LLU or something). Well I didn't realise that until i'd already moved to sky. We never had any problems with orange but chose sky because we had the TV aswell.

      We are unable to play warcraft and its driving us insane. I've phoned sky countless times and they said it's the ping thats the problem. The latency on WoW is dreadful, it's completely unplayable and a new online game is coming out soon that we want to play. After the phonecall Sky contact BT and things are *slightly* better for about 2 days then wow is unplayable again.

      Does anyone know how this can be sorted? The only other LLU company at my exchange is Talk Talk and I can't go with them until my BT phone contract runs out. So if I chose another company will I still have the same problems as Sky?

      So basically my web pages load up ok. The router says the internet speed is quite fast. I don't know what the problem is, i'm clueless. All I know is we can't play warcraft, and it's the one thing we want the internet for.

      Last time I phoned they said we were put on the fast track, but as usual after a few days it was back to normal. Any ideas?



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7872 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 11 db 5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 27 db

      Edit: Sorry i've just realised I should have posted this in the gaming forum....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fugly's Avatar
      fugly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hereford
      Broadband ISP: BT Option 3
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't play WoW

      Hi Sabrina, have a look at this post and hopefully all will make sense
      (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

    4. #3
      Sabrina's Avatar
      Sabrina is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Yeovil
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Yeovil
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't play WoW

      Hi there. I'm not sure if it's because of the traffic management, as it's like this throughout the day (though it is even worse in evenings).

      Does this mean that unless I go with a LLU company at my exchange I will have the same problems if I change ISP?

      Sorry if I missed something on the FAQ i'm finding all this hard to understand.

    5. #4
      Sabrina's Avatar
      Sabrina is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Yeovil
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Yeovil
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't play WoW

      BT Test:

      Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
      Your DSL connection rate: 7872 kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP profile for your line is - 6500 kbps
      Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 384 kbps

    6. #5
      nubby101's Avatar
      nubby101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't play WoW

      hi guys lookn for a little help i recently joined sky and im having issues connecting to wow ive looked over the posts above and cant follow them (yes im a pc nub ) ive spent 2 hrs on phone to sky customer servises/tech help and theve fiddles with settings and put me on a gamer profile cn any 1 suggest anything or clarify the above posts a little (sry for bing a pain) ty in advanse

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION