Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 52

    SkyMax problems. Capping?

    This is a discussion on SkyMax problems. Capping? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I think if the line had deteriorated that much, it would show in an increase in your attenuation. With you ...

    1. #41
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SkyMax problems. Capping?

      I think if the line had deteriorated that much, it would show in an increase in your attenuation. With you present attenuation would still expect to get 4-5Mb. If you were 6+K from the exchange as they say, your attenuation would be up in the 60s, not the low 50s. I think you are being fobbed off, there is a fault on your line or in the card in the exchange. Sky really need to get BT out to check the broadband on the line. Checking it for voice will tell nothing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      vibrant's Avatar
      vibrant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyMax problems. Capping?

      Really ticked now...


      spoke to 2nd line yesterday and it was agreed to call me back after 6pm to arrange the router.
      I get in at 5 and lo and behold there is a message from sky. (it was also agreed they would call me on my mobile...)

      called and got through to 1st line straight away who put me through to 2nd line, ive just been on hold for over 1.5 hrs - more fool me - I gave up eventually.

      I may try them later, I understand 2nd line shuts at 11pm -

      is there a direct number? - i have an open ticket...


    4. #43
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SkyMax problems. Capping?

      I don't think CST shut down at 11, that is about the best time to call. If you have a ticket number you should get straight through without the usual palaver.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #44
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyMax problems. Capping?

      AFAIK CST run 24/7, in fact I was supposed to be put through to them a night ago around midnight but there was a 30 min queue so I opted to call back at a more convenient time.

    6. #45
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: SkyMax problems. Capping?

      A Mate of mine who is on Sky Max is Synced @ 6MB but is only getting 3MB..He tells me this has been going on for a few weeks now.. All Tests come out Ok

      Sky have just told him they are monitoring everyones connection between 4PM-12AM(Midnight) and if needed they will apply a cap..

    7. #46
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: SkyMax problems. Capping?

      Quote Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
      Sky have just told him they are monitoring everyones connection between 4PM-12AM(Midnight) and if needed they will apply a cap..
      Sky do not cap or apply shaping on Max (unless there are problems with your line) If they did they would lose a lot of customers.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #47
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SkyMax problems. Capping?

      Quote Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
      A Mate of mine who is on Sky Max is Synced @ 6MB but is only getting 3MB..He tells me this has been going on for a few weeks now.. All Tests come out Ok

      Sky have just told him they are monitoring everyones connection between 4PM-12AM(Midnight) and if needed they will apply a cap..
      he'll be on Connect then...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #48
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: SkyMax problems. Capping?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      he'll be on Connect then...

      he is defo on max

      Router is synced @ 6mb , fine morning and afternoon , but come 4PM it goes down to 1.5MB and stayes there to 12AM..

    10. #49
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SkyMax problems. Capping?

      then Sky don't monitor anything, as only Connect is throttled peak hours (5-midnight)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #50
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SkyMax problems. Capping?

      he is defo on max
      Post his router stats, for a confirmation. Many ask for Max, think they are on it and are not. What is his exchange?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION