Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Possible line discrepancy

    This is a discussion on Possible line discrepancy within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; HI all, just wanting to explain a little problem i had yesterday and wondering if anyone can help, ive been ...

    1. #1
      unbiased's Avatar
      unbiased is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Possible line discrepancy

      HI all, just wanting to explain a little problem i had yesterday and wondering if anyone can help, ive been connecting with no problems at 5mb on my bb line for nearly 3 years, 1yr with sky and 2 with plusnet
      I upgraded from mid to max yesterday and when i did my speed dropped from 5mb to 3.5mb
      When i rang up to complain about this i got 20 mins of the usual , about has ought changed on pc, home etc etc, also about 3 reboots, but she did say my line was showing as 3.5mb max.
      Eventually got put through to the customer solutions team who knew what i was talking about, and i eventually convinced him my line could connect fine at 5mb as it had been previously so he upped my line albeit begrudginly lol,
      I did a line checker test afterwards just to see, and it is true it says my line can connect at around 3.5mb max, now is there anyway i can change this and can anyone think why it would have dropped as it did say previously good for 5mb, not sure exacly when it changed but likely in last 3-4 months as i do checks every now and again
      Also now sky know i can get 5mb stable , will they log that? as i do not want to go through all this again when they change there lines to llu

      I connect through a bt faceplate, line attenuation is 46, and snr is stable around 6, although on the 3.5mb i was on it was at 12db, i know im never gonna have a super fast line, but 5mb has always been good enough and i dont want to lose that.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Possible line discrepancy

      it could be anything from a change in line conditions somewhere between you and the exchange to a piece of faulty equipment somewhere. Sky use BTs checker to get their information and that checker is out of date and is setup for adsl not adsl 2+.

    4. #3
      unbiased's Avatar
      unbiased is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible line discrepancy

      thanks for response, is there anything i can do to update this then?
      also will sky now have logged my line as ok for the higher speed,so i dont get this again?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Possible line discrepancy

      If you upgraded you were probably put on to DLM, this has a low starting speed which gradually increases as the line is trained. Post your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      unbiased's Avatar
      unbiased is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible line discrepancy

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5020 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 16 db
      stats as of today

    7. #6
      unbiased's Avatar
      unbiased is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible line discrepancy

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5019 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 17 db


      lol, dropped 1 kbps today, is it normal for dlm to do a reconnect through the night
      last 2 nights, it seems to resync about 3am in morning

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Possible line discrepancy

      thats when it reprofiles - its when normal people are in bed so no one should notice...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      unbiased's Avatar
      unbiased is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible line discrepancy

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      thats when it reprofiles - its when normal people are in bed so no one should notice...
      lol, doesnt take into account for people doing late night raids on wow then

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION