Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 32

    Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

    This is a discussion on Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok Whats the best way to contact sky to have my 4992mb cap removed and a switch to ADSL2+ , ...

    1. #1
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Ok
      Whats the best way to contact sky to have my 4992mb cap removed and a switch to ADSL2+ , website kana or phone call ? not sure i would get a response i want from either.

      Stats

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1870587 3218584 0 228 48 102:43:26
      LAN 7145418 5782508 0 74 0 102:44:46
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 102:44:18
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4992 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 17.0 db
      Not had any drops or problems since day one so very impressed so far .

      Mark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      sbarkeri's Avatar
      sbarkeri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSHI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shipley, W.Yorks
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      I'd say using the Kana form is the best way, I've contacted them 3 times using it now (Getting Max Delay Changed, Getting Removed from DLM, Switching to ADSL2+) I feel that they could be a little quicker with the responces as it ususally takes 1-3 days for them to reply or usually do what you asked of them. Calling Sky usually involves you getting suck with someone who is OBSESSED with running line-tests and telling you what speeds you can get.

      E.g. "Mr.Barker your line can only support 4Mb, I see it on my screen right here"

      Clearly that person was just doing their job however I knew that I could get atleast 8Mb and now I'm getting 11

      But really I would consider that Kana > Calling because you don't get charged through the roof for the 0870/0844 number and you will get an educated responce.

      P.S. Those stats I would say are pretty close to the max you'll get, just bear in mind switching to ADSL2+ will bump up your Attenuation by about 2-3db so just watch out or you could end up with a lot of drop outs

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Mark, you're barely capped as it is, and moving to ADSL2+ will more than likely lead to issues with stability and no guarantee of an increase in speed...

      however, if you wish to chance it then then best way is to call - using the kana form is likely to lead to an auto-regrade which'll likely cap your line...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Cheers
      Would still like to sync @ what my line can , and i would have thought Max product is ADSL2+ being upto 16mb no matter what line you have BE or o2 don't lump you on G.DMT just because you have a 60dB loss . ADSL2+ what ever you can get if need be i'll nick my GT on thr line for even more stablility but i don'y think i would need that

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Your attenuation of 51 will rise to 54 on ADSL2+, which is reported as follows-
      ADSL2+ Speed Test

      We estimate your line is capable of between 4mb to 5mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.

      What are you going to gain? According to reports all existing lines are going to be put on DLM which means ADSL2+, so you may be as well to wait it out. You might find you have to beg to be put back on G.DMT.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      ^ what tester is that ? , can it test my bt broadband line if i'll be on adsl2+ tomorrow?

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      ^^^

      you'll be on 4Mbps down/512kbps up at first, but if the upload shows just below 512 then you're on adsl2+...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Thanks

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      what tester is that ?
      The Skyuser one, it works on attenuation and is an estimate only. Once you are connected you will see what your potential speed will be.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      ADSL2+ Speed Test
      We estimate your line is capable of between 6mb to 7mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.

      Nice oh and sorry for crapping your thread op

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION