Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 32

    Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

    This is a discussion on Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; When ADSL2+ has been enabled, do you need to reboot your router or does it just change over to it?...

    1. #21
      Airwaves's Avatar
      Airwaves is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidstone
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      When ADSL2+ has been enabled, do you need to reboot your router or does it just change over to it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      I would assume that the router would resync by itself.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #23
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Does ADSL2+ get switched on during the 10day phase as a test or is ADSL2+ activated from the go?

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      From what I have seen on the forum it seems to vary, some start on G.DMT others go straight on to ADSL2+. With their new system, I think everyone will now go straight on to ADSL2+

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      usually goes on within 24hrs of activation...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #26
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Only for joining customers, existing have to wait their turn, like it always is with Sky
      I have only just returned , that counts as a new customer ? i'm confused lol

    8. #27
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      did you go active yesterday or today? if not, you class as an existing customer and DLM will be turned on withing the next couple of months
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #28
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      usually goes on within 24hrs of activation...
      Ahh i got activated about 3-4am this morning , so it will probably come on tomorrow?

    10. #29
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      15th June went active.

    11. #30
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      should do, the upstream will show slightly lower (510kbps) usually showing a move to adsl2+...along with a slight increase in attenuation...

      thing is, though, unless Sky think your line will benefit from it it might not change...most do though...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION