Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32

    Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

    This is a discussion on Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme Your attenuation of 51 will rise to 54 on ADSL2+, which is reported as follows- ADSL2+ ...

    1. #11
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your attenuation of 51 will rise to 54 on ADSL2+, which is reported as follows-
      ADSL2+ Speed Test

      We estimate your line is capable of between 4mb to 5mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.

      What are you going to gain? According to reports all existing lines are going to be put on DLM which means ADSL2+, so you may be as well to wait it out. You might find you have to beg to be put back on G.DMT.

      Maybe a few more tones being used , i get 5mb on a 60db line on adsl2+ so why would a 51db line be the same? a slight increase , 6.2mb on 21CN , but being as 21cn was a little flakey i moved off, what with BT profiling system being poop too

      I'll call them tonight .


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      I notice you are in Milton Keynes which you may know is famous, or should that be infamous, for the extensive use of aluminium in the phone lines. That may account for the differences you are experiencing. 5Mb on a 60db attenuation is exceptional good. 21CN broadband is ADSL2+ by the way. If you were getting 6.2 on that, it would be with a very low noise margin, which is probably why it was flakey.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Question Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      OK so I'm thick

      but where's the "KANA" form?

    5. #14
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #15
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Smile Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Got it, thanks.

    7. #16
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      I am aware of the quality of most lines around here , both my lines hold a very good noise margin , the o2 line is a 3dB profile and i have no drops a little .5 drop in SNR in the evenings but thats it . This line has had alot of BT work done over the past few months and thats a good 3dB holder too , Quality internal wiring alond with the good filter face plates

      Link Information

      Uptime: 15 days, 12:11:47
      DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,031 / 5,073
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.0
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 36.0 / 60.0
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 3.0 / 3.5
      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / BDCM
      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Link (Remote): 0
      Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 19 / 0
      FEC Errors (Up/Down): 770 / 554,926
      CRC Errors (Up/Down): 770 / 1,744
      HEC Errors (Up/Down): 6,351 / 1,525

    8. #17
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      lol , As i thought was told to swing and jump, nice one sky

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      ADSL2+ comes to those who wait

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      Sould not have to in reality , as the product is upto 20mb = ADSL2+ , but then again i got cheap BB thats all i wanted after being made redundant . More important matters at hand.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact Sky to switch ADSL2+

      as the product is upto 20mb
      Only for joining customers, existing have to wait their turn, like it always is with Sky

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION