Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 63

    Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

    This is a discussion on Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sounds like sky have did something to block playstation network users siging in, everytime i try it keeps timing out ...

    1. #1
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

      Sounds like sky have did something to block playstation network users siging in, everytime i try it keeps timing out or disconnects after 2 mins, sounds like alot of people have this problem, see here

      Sky Broadband subscribers with PSN issues - PLAYSTATIONŽNetwork - Official PlayStation Community -PlayStation.com

      thing is what can i do, sounds like sky are not listening and saying its not there problem but it sounds like it is def something to do with them


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

      it's an issue since a PSN update recently, and it's NOT just Sky (I know of people on Orange and AOL having the same issues)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

      See this thread, and post 5...

      PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      it's an issue since a PSN update recently, and it's NOT just Sky (I know of people on Orange and AOL having the same issues)
      there hasnt been an update recently and it only started on wednesday for me before that it was working fine

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      See this thread, and post 5...

      PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!
      its not a DNS issue did all that and it still doesnt work

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

      well, I'll still tell you it's not just Sky seeing as I know of other ISPs having the same issue...

      and i meant post 5 saying it's not a Sky issue - not necessarily the solution in it...

      and the fact you're on Connect isn't going to help you either...

      EDIT: are you the OP on that PSN thread? you do know the upgrades tomorrow are for LLU and nothing to do with Connect don't you??
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      JRush's Avatar
      JRush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen North
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

      i agree also. I think it is something Sky have done recently to mess things up.

      Been with their broadband for around 2 years had practically zero PSN problems until THURSDAY last week...when it all went to hell.

      They are beyond useless on the phone. The frontline monkeys do not know anything - they arent really told anything tbh.

      If the new router doesnt fix this problem then im off - i'll cancel my entire Sky package.

      Not sure whether it was only Connect users who were more affected as that sorta points the finger at BT as well.

      At the end of the day Sky are the ones who need to get their finger out. I hate the fact they always try and keep the customer in the dark and dont tell us anything! and deny it is anything to do with them....

      Is there a rep from Sky on these very boards? Perhaps they could investigate the matter because its more than coincidence that so many are having problems from Thursday.

    8. #7
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

      It is NOT a sky issue.

      I'm actually sick and tired of getting calls about this at work.

      Despite what Sony say, it is a problem with THEIR service, not Skys.

      Sky have done absolutely nothing to their DNS servers, port settings, routing settings or any other settings that would cause this.

      It is a problem with the Playstation network, and that is the advice you would get from Sky if you contacted them.

      The update referred to in a previous post may not necessarily be a Playstation update. If Sony updated some of the servers they use, you would not know the difference, and this is what Sky believe has happened.

      You have to talk to Sony/Playstation support about, and don't believe them when they say it is an ISP issue, cos it plain and simply isn't

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

      JRush...

      You not realised that I, and a LOT of others posters here, are Sky employees??

      It does seem to be only Connect customers calling, but they're getting told by Sony to get 'more bandwidth' which just isn't possible...it wouldn't have been the change to IPStream Connect as opposed to Centrals as that happened the other week...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      JRush's Avatar
      JRush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen North
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      JRush...

      You not realised that I, and a LOT of others posters here, are Sky employees??

      It does seem to be only Connect customers calling, but they're getting told by Sony to get 'more bandwidth' which just isn't possible...it wouldn't have been the change to IPStream Connect as opposed to Centrals as that happened the other week...
      ok - i'll make a quick call to Sony. Last time i phoned them they were adamant it was Sky.

      Who to believe Sony or Sky? How would i know i dont have access any information about any of this...i just report on what i'm told by each side..... i'm a customer how would i know?

      Forgot Sony support line closes at 6pm have to wait till tomorrow. But there wasnt any PS3 update since thursday i know that.

    11. #10
      JRush's Avatar
      JRush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen North
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky have block Playstation network somehow!! Help!!

      indefatigible - How exactly do you know that it is a problem with the PSN ?

      What is the nature of the problem? Can you pm me with your details so i can confirm your staff status and that what you are saying is the official line from Sky on this.

      In what capacity do you work at Sky?

      thanks

     

     
    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION