Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky Network Maintenance 21/6/09?

    This is a discussion on Sky Network Maintenance 21/6/09? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Has anyone else noticed how the broadband throughput speed has dropped since about midnight? My stats below for reference but ...

    1. #1
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Question Sky Network Maintenance 21/6/09?

      Has anyone else noticed how the broadband throughput speed has dropped since about midnight?

      My stats below for reference but depending on the speed test site used the actual throughput is either about 2MB or 4MB. (Both wired & wireless).

      I wonder if its down to Maintenance to get ready for the "22nd" changes?

      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 28.0
      Attn(dB): 39.0 26.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 8224 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 7488 416


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Network Maintenance 21/6/09?

      No mine is spot on its normal 83% of sync, using a test download on Thinkbroadband.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Network Maintenance 21/6/09?

      There's no maintenance planned today from what I have received via PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      paulwigfield's Avatar
      paulwigfield is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rock Ferry
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Network Maintenance 21/6/09?

      my speed is as normal, excellent.

    6. #5
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Exclamation Re: Sky Network Maintenance 21/6/09?

      Thanks for the replies. There is NO maintenance going off and now its back to normal but I cannot explain why

      Anyway, I did call Sky this morning and they could not find any obvious line problem. The guy noticed that my modem is a white Netgear "V1" which we have had since 2006.

      He seemed quite surprised by this and has now ordered me a new Segam 2504, as this resolves "80% of issues".

      Now thatís got me thinking. To be honest I feel that there is nothing wrong with my old Netgear

      So what do I do?

      As its now working OK, shall I just leave alone rather than messing around with the Segam?

      However, will they just switch off the Netgear?
      Is the Segam better anyway in terms of Broadband and wireless performance?
      If I did plug in the Segam, can I go back to the old Netgear if its not as good?

      I suppose itís all down to whether the Segam is better than Netgear?

      Thanks

    7. #6
      mrvanx's Avatar
      mrvanx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Melrosegate (MYMSG)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Network Maintenance 21/6/09?

      Ive never had the netgear sky router but before joining skyBB I used my ageing DG834 (non wireless version) and the later on DG834GT (which i believe the sky router is, albeit with sky firmware but...) and was quite happy with them, got the black Sagem router when i joined last year and found it to be en-par, possibly more stable.

      I had some reservations with Sagem as a brand but was actually quite impressed with it.

      EDIT:: My tiny review and also my thread when i first got skyBB, I was also dubious of the sagem box.
      Last edited by mrvanx; 21-06-09 at 09:15 PM.

    8. #7
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Question Re: Sky Network Maintenance 21/6/09?

      mrvanx, thanks for your helpful post. BTW, did you conclude that the Segam wireless performance is just as good as the Netgear. (Distance/speed wise?)

      Since I rang Sky my line stats are now;

      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 28.0
      Attn(dB): 39.0 26.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 8224 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 7488 416


      As you can see, they have moved me from ADSL2+ back to G.DMT. No issue with that as I'm on Mid anyway.

      My question though is whether I've been capped or is 7488 about right for a snr of 7.1?

      Finally, whats does "ShowtimeRetrain Reason:8000 mean?

      thanks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION