Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Broadband losing connection.

    This is a discussion on Broadband losing connection. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yes much better, see how you go tonight, and if the noise margin only drops by a dB or 2 ...

    1. #11
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Broadband losing connection.

      Yes much better, see how you go tonight, and if the noise margin only drops by a dB or 2 then you are o.k and can call Sky. If you wish you can leave things alone and see what DLM makes of your line when they do yours.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband losing connection.

      What is the normal range for the noise margin to fall at night, is 3db normal.

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Broadband losing connection.

      It all depends on the line, its age, overhead or underground, how long it is. Ther is no real figure that indicates all is o.k. But you should be able to notice some pattern in the way your line behaves.
      In this thread Sc00by has wild swings in his noise margin, so having disconnected the ring line at the master socket we all hope that the change in noise margin has been brought under control and the line is more stable.

    5. #14
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband losing connection.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You should get 4-5Mb quite easily, phone and ask them to lift the cap a bit. It is a bit difficult to understand why your first stats show such a low noise margin, it could be you are suffering from REIN Interference
      Exactly what my connection seems to be doing, a healthy 14-15db of noise margin during the day but from 21:30 onwards this start to drop off until eventually it goes below 6 and reconnects or I have to reboot the router to clear the errors off the line. I've put my problems down to street lighting.

      The problem is, and I don't know if this is specific to the Sagem router, the noise has an accumulative effect so it just builds up overnight and doesn't go back up unless the router is rebooted or disconnects.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband losing connection.

      doesn't go back up unless the router is rebooted or disconnects.
      It should not be doing that, as the noise on the line decreases the noise margin should rise. Mine varies between 8.9 and 5.6, but I don't have to reboot to get it back up. If you are having to reboot to get the noise up, your router may be faulty.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband losing connection.

      Looking at the stats from a non-sky router I'm picking up a lot of FEC/HEC errors around this time which probably causes the noise margin to fall. These errors are acumulative and will stay on the line until the connection is dropped.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband losing connection.

      These errors are acumulative and will stay on the line until the connection is dropped.
      This is a popular misconception. It does not matter how many errors you have on your stats, you could have millions it would not matter. It is the rate errors are being generated that causes the problem, not the build up. Any rate above 1% of your frames will cause problems. eg At the moment I have over 17,000 errors, but have 40,000,000. Super Frames so I am well within the safety margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Sc00by22's Avatar
      Sc00by22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband losing connection.

      I've contacted Sky today regarding my 3mb cap speed, waiting to here back

    10. #19
      Sc00by22's Avatar
      Sc00by22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband losing connection.

      Just had my speed increased to near 5MB, here are my stats, noise margin is fairly low, lets see how stable this is for the next few days.

      DownStream Connection Speed 4992 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 768 kbps

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4992 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 9.0 db

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband losing connection.

      It is not exactly low, you have almost a full db above the default. As long as your noise does not swing by more than 3 or 4 dbs, you should be OK.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION