Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Just installed, speed query

    This is a discussion on Just installed, speed query within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by steve16751 [B]bellboy [/B Hi you do realise DLM is running Have a read before you start to ...

    1. #11
      bellboy's Avatar
      bellboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kilwinning,North Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDMultiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just installed, speed query

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      [B]bellboy [/B
      Hi you do realise DLM is running

      Have a read before you start to panic then maybe it will set your mind at ease
      thanks steve, i'll ride it out for now and hopefully it will be betterbafter dlm.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Just installed, speed query

      Hi I am sure it will be but any questions or problems you have will be answered hope everything goes well good luck

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just installed, speed query

      Make sure you keep your router powered up and switched on until the training is finished. If you have been switching it off or rebooting it, that would account for the large difference in connection speeds. Your very high noise margin indicates that you have a very good line for its length and you should get 8-10Mb. Don't worry about download speed till the training has finished.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      bellboy's Avatar
      bellboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kilwinning,North Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDMultiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just installed, speed query

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Make sure you keep your router powered up and switched on until the training is finished. If you have been switching it off or rebooting it, that would account for the large difference in connection speeds. Your very high noise margin indicates that you have a very good line for its length and you should get 8-10Mb. Don't worry about download speed till the training has finished.
      aye mate its been left on since installed. its so frustrating during dlm as im not even getting 2 meg lol

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just installed, speed query

      Something has caused your speed to be reduced. Max starts off at 4Mb and with your stats it should have gone up, not down. Give it a couple of days and if it does not rise, give Sky a call just to make sure everything is in order. You should also check the Broadband details in your MySky page. It may give you some info on what is happening on your line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      bellboy's Avatar
      bellboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kilwinning,North Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDMultiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just installed, speed query

      internet wouldnt connect all day, i had to switch the router on n off before i could connect. how will this effect my connection as im still going through dlm???

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just installed, speed query

      I think you are just going to wait out the DLM training and if it does not sort itself out, phone Sky and ask them to configure your line manually.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      bellboy's Avatar
      bellboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kilwinning,North Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDMultiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just installed, speed query

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think you are just going to wait out the DLM training and if it does not sort itself out, phone Sky and ask them to configure your line manually.
      manualy dont sound to good.....

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just installed, speed query

      No it will be fine if it is necessary. I am pretty sure this DLM thing is just to cut down on support work. Any of the CST guys will configure a line just as well as DLM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION