Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Speed Issue

    This is a discussion on Speed Issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi what speeds should i be getting? adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0 Channel: INTR, Upstream ...

    1. #1
      Midnight211983's Avatar
      Midnight211983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02476
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed Issue

      hi what speeds should i be getting?

      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 544 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2560 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.0 13.0
      Attn(dB): 42.0 27.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 4288 864
      Rate (Kbps): 2560 544
      G.dmt framing
      K: 81(0) 18
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 81 18
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1951 8.8421
      L: 656 152
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 56106 56107
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1907636 475906
      RSCorr: 455 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 5759212 0
      Data Cells: 141652 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 19 0
      AS: 954

      INP: 6.24 3.36
      PER: 1.92 1.93
      delay: 35.12 17.68
      OR: 29.15 28.95

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 16 min 24 sec
      SF = 56106
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 16 min 24 sec
      SF = 56106
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 24 sec
      SF = 4956
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51150
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0

      Any help is appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      You should get at least 7mb with those stats.
      Also how long have you been connected.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      It looks like your line is capped and not performing at anything like its full potential. As you have been connected for nearly 2 years and have not been subjected to DLM, you seem to have serious noise problems. Start by plugging into your Test socket, link below, and post your stats from there. See if we can narrow down the problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      As OP is on Max product should he not be ADSL2+ and Not G.DMT?

      "hi what speeds should i be getting?

      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 544 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2560 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.0 13.0
      Attn(dB): 42.0 27.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 4288 864
      Rate (Kbps): 2560 544
      G.dmt framing"

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      With an attenuation of 42db, it may well be that G.DMT is actually more stable than ADSL2+. The low 40's is the bordeline between ADSL2+ and G.DMT for stability.

    7. #6
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      I beg to differ on that, my other line with o2 has a 60dB Attn and is way more stable on ADSL2+ than G.DMT , but saying that all lines are different in quality . I think people whom have a long line should have the option to have a blast at ADSL2+ there will be a gain witha 42dB Attn .

      Mark

    8. #7
      Midnight211983's Avatar
      Midnight211983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02476
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      I have had it for 2 years that is in the test socket, what is a DLM?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      You will have to phone Sky and ask them to take the cap off your line. It looks like your external line may have a fault, try to get the cap lifted first and see what happens.

      What Is DLM? Everything you need to know.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Midnight211983's Avatar
      Midnight211983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02476
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      I have had the cap lifted b4 but nothing happens it just takes ages to sync in. When i first had sky i got a speed of 6.6mb the day it activated and it slowly been getting worse since. Im now at 3.7mb How do i find out if my bt phone line has a fault?

    11. #10
      Midnight211983's Avatar
      Midnight211983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02476
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      I rung up sky the other day asking why i am G.DMT and not adsl+2 and i just kept getting the same sh*t you are connected on adsl+2 and i kept telling them i can see i am connected as G.DMT and they kept asking me how i know that. And i said i have done tests to find out.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION