Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    wireless problem

    This is a discussion on wireless problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; can anyone please help me im having problems with my wireless on my router its the black netgear 1when im ...

    1. #1
      stefbhoy's Avatar
      stefbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: sky+hd & sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      wireless problem

      can anyone please help me im having problems with my wireless on my router its the black netgear 1when im wired through an ethernet cable im getting about 8 meg but as soon as i go wireless this drops 2 around 1 or 2 meg been on the phone to c.s and they are sending out a new router but he said if this doesnt help then theres not really a lot they can do does anyone have any idea what could be causing this thanx


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: wireless problem

      Wireless is a poor way to send and receive data, too many things can interfere with it.

      You could try changing channel numbers, start at 13 and work down.

    4. #3
      stefbhoy's Avatar
      stefbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: sky+hd & sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless problem

      thats what c.s said he mentioned something about powered ethernet cables wireless ones that you plug in is this true its for xbox live currently im having to plug in a 30 metre ethernet cable and its a real pain thanx

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: wireless problem

      He was probably referring to Homeplugs.
      HomePlug AV | Broadbandbuyer.co.uk which are tidier than cables and faster and more stable than wireless.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      stefbhoy's Avatar
      stefbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: sky+hd & sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless problem

      would these be better than my xbox wireless kit which is lagging all the time because of my poor speeds when using wireless

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: wireless problem

      Homepkugs work nearly as well as running in an ethernet cable and will improve your gaming no end.

      If you can afford the 45 price tag for a pair of Solwise 85mb ones from e-bay it will be some of the most effective improvements you can do.

    8. #7
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Homepkugs work nearly as well as running in an ethernet cable and will improve your gaming no end.

      If you can afford the 45 price tag for a pair of Solwise 85mb ones from e-bay it will be some of the most effective improvements you can do.
      If your buying from ebay I'd recommend the Comtrend 200Mps homeplugs (the 902 ones with the mains passthrough). These can be had for 40 or less.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION