Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...)

    This is a discussion on Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, We have the Mid package, which should give us "up to 8mb" connection. Recently we upgraded to Max, only ...

    1. #1
      dgodf's Avatar
      dgodf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...)

      Hi,

      We have the Mid package, which should give us "up to 8mb" connection. Recently we upgraded to Max, only to find the line wouldn't support more than about 7Mb connection, so we downgraded back to Mid. When we were on the Max connection, our speed was around 5.5Mb. Now we are back on the Mid package, we are only getting 2Mb.

      So, clearly the line can and wilol support "up to 8Mb" (or very close), yet now we only get 2Mb. Speaking to Sky Technical Support (an oxymoron if ever I hear one...) they were totally clueless about this.

      Does anyone have any suggestions how I can get this resolved? Next step is to just can Sky totally and go with BE or someone else...

      Cheers,


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...)

      if you post your router stats then we can look at your sync speeds/attenuation/noise margins and give you an idea of what speeds are possible + if you can make any improvements to your line.

      See link below to get your stats

      Sky User - How to use the SkyUser Router Stats Tool

    4. #3
      dgodf's Avatar
      dgodf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...)

      Hi,

      Thanks for the offer.

      Is this the info required?

      Downstream Connection Speed: 2043 kbps
      Downstream Line Attenuation: 39.5 db
      Downstream Noise Margin: 15.3 db

      Upstream Connection Speed: 412 kbps
      Upstream Line Attenuation: 21.7 db
      UpstreamNoise Margin: 24.0 db

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...)

      001
      Quote Originally Posted by dgodf View Post
      Hi,

      Thanks for the offer.

      Is this the info required?

      Downstream Connection Speed: 2043 kbps
      Downstream Line Attenuation: 39.5 db
      Downstream Noise Margin: 15.3 db

      Upstream Connection Speed: 412 kbps
      Upstream Line Attenuation: 21.7 db
      UpstreamNoise Margin: 24.0 db
      Could you post from the test socket if you have one, you should see the full 8mb at least, this will see if there is any noise coming from the internal wiring slowing you down.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...)

      Your stats are good enough for 7-8Mb. I think with the changing of package you have done, DLM may have been started on your line. Have a look at the Broadband section on your MySky page, see if it reports your line as training. If it doesn't, phone Sky and ask them to trouble-shoot your line for speed. There is no reason why you can't get 7-8Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      audioslim's Avatar
      audioslim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Failsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...)

      My line is rubbish at the moment too.
      When I left BE I was on a 5.5 mb synch with near full throughput on speed tests.

      When I went to Sky 12 months ago synch was 4mb, and has dropped since then to 3mb, and speed tests are giving max of 2mb now.

      Looks like I'm back off to Be shortly, cant get any response out of the 'broadband status' page either.

      Slim

    8. #7
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...)

      Quote Originally Posted by audioslim View Post
      My line is rubbish at the moment too.
      When I left BE I was on a 5.5 mb synch with near full throughput on speed tests.

      When I went to Sky 12 months ago synch was 4mb, and has dropped since then to 3mb, and speed tests are giving max of 2mb now.

      Looks like I'm back off to Be shortly, cant get any response out of the 'broadband status' page either.

      Slim
      Mite be worth opening a new thread for yourself audioslim with your router stats, then we can see whats going on before you go through the hassle of changing ISPs again!

    9. #8
      audioslim's Avatar
      audioslim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Failsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...)

      Yep I will sometime.

      I already know my line is not that clever. Same in test socket as through the extensions mind. Its before it comes into my house I think.
      I know the reasons why it's dropped though. When I was on BE I'ld get a 5.5mb synch but it was a little ropey and would drop and re-connect a fair few times a day.
      Synch with Sky start @ 4.5mb but no doubt due to the odd drop etc they've locked it lower.

      I'll post stats sometime, but unless BT run a new copper cable I dont hold out much hope. Might try and badger sky to lower the margin, dont know if they will or not though!

      Slim

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed Problems (2mb only on Mid...)

      If the OP has downgraded from Max to Mid in the last 10 days they will still be under DLM training which now starts at 2mb and works it's way up.

      This would explain the high NM and 2mb speeds.

      You need to let DLM do it's thing.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION