Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Which exchange have openReach added me to?

    This is a discussion on Which exchange have openReach added me to? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi - had SkyTV installed couple of weeks ago and OpenReach (via Sky) came to install phone line ready for ...

    1. #1
      jmauk's Avatar
      jmauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canonbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Which exchange have openReach added me to?

      Hi - had SkyTV installed couple of weeks ago and OpenReach (via Sky) came to install phone line ready for SkyBroadbandMax today.

      When ordering everything a few weeks ago I gave my neighbours BT phone number (in the fkat below me) to get an indicator of the speed - as I was on a cable (Virgin) line so that number wouldn't work. Anyway, the Sky bod said that number was at Canonbury (the very very local BT exchange) and would sync at 17mbps.

      Today, when Sky/openReach have installed the line, I get told that it will have a max speed of 6mbps.

      They have given me a number that has an "704" exchange ID rather than "354" - I used to have BT before and my numbers were all 354, and my nieghbours is 354. Could openReach have put me on a different exchange hence the different speeds?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which exchange have openReach added me to?

      sounds like its a possibility, obviously if they put you on a exchange that is a further distance from your home your speed will be decreased.

      can can search for your local exchanges with your phone number/postcode here.
      SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Exchange Search

    4. #3
      jmauk's Avatar
      jmauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canonbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which exchange have openReach added me to?

      Hmm it is Canonbury.

      ADSL2+ is available there with Sky so why are they saying I can only get 6mbps?

    5. #4
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which exchange have openReach added me to?

      is your internet active at home now?
      If so post your router stats which should give an indication as to how far you are from the exchange its syncing with, and an estimate of what kind of speeds you can expect.

      Sky User - How to use the SkyUser Router Stats Tool

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Which exchange have openReach added me to?

      Who told you you would only get 6Mbs? If it was BT just ignore it. How far are you from the exchange?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      jmauk's Avatar
      jmauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canonbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which exchange have openReach added me to?

      no stats yet as not connected on that line (with virgin for broadband right now).

      BT checker and the Sky one both say 6mbps. I am (line of sight) 660 metres from the exchange!

      O2 say I can get their 16mbps connection and CerebusNetworks (using Telefonica) say 24mbps.

      CONFUSED!

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Which exchange have openReach added me to?

      Sky and BT use the same old out-dated checker. I would be inclined to believe the O2 estimate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      jmauk's Avatar
      jmauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canonbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which exchange have openReach added me to?

      Maybe I should get it thru O2 then for 9.80 a month for the 16mbps no limits variant?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Which exchange have openReach added me to?

      O2 is highly thought of, have a look at out sister forum - O2User

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      jmauk's Avatar
      jmauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canonbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which exchange have openReach added me to?

      O2 it is then. Called Sky broadband 4 times and was told "you will not get more than 6mbps" at that exchange -- even though the exchange does have SkyMaxLLU as a neighbour is on it....sigh...

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION