Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

    This is a discussion on just finished DLM, does my speed look ok? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I think you are capped so you would need to tell Sky you have improved your wiring and want your ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

      I think you are capped so you would need to tell Sky you have improved your wiring and want your speed increased.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      stevemac's Avatar
      stevemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

      thats great news!

      thanks for all your help.

    4. #13
      stevemac's Avatar
      stevemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

      here are my new stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16219 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 16.2 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 16.5 db

      do you think removing the bell wire from the master socket could help even more? im getting 14mb on speed test. they offered to set connection speed at 17mb but i went for 16mb for stability.
      Last edited by stevemac; 11-06-09 at 02:31 AM.

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

      Sky do NOT set lines any higher than the current Max profiles...if the agent said that they're wrong and would've got a warning...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      stevemac's Avatar
      stevemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

      cheers for the answer. if that's the case i'll leave it as it is.

      thanks to everyone who has helped.

    7. #16
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      Sky do NOT set lines any higher than the current Max profiles...if the agent said that they're wrong and would've got a warning...
      Would DLM set this higher than the standard 16Mb if your line looked like it would handle it? or is it fixed at a maximum sync rate?

    8. #17
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

      Sky operate up to 16Mb at the moment, that is the top sync.

    9. #18
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

      Do you know what the max sync for upload is at the moment?
      During my DLM my upload stats went to something like 1030 kbps then i accidently power off the extension with the router on and when turned it back on had synced down to 980 kbps

      My current stats are below but the download hasnt changed for a few days now, my upload noise margin seems to fluctuate between 8 and 8.7 during the day and my download between 13 and 13.7 is this normal?

      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed 11263 kbps 980 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.0 db 9.2 db
      Noise Margin13.2 db 8.0 db

    10. #19
      stevemac's Avatar
      stevemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

      thats what happened to me. they just put my upload speed down to what it should be so that my download speed could be increased.

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: just finished DLM, does my speed look ok?

      Quote Originally Posted by Donaldson2121 View Post
      Would DLM set this higher than the standard 16Mb if your line looked like it would handle it? or is it fixed at a maximum sync rate?
      yes it will...the DLM engine is already rolling out the new speeds so if DLM was turned back on and set to stabalise it would probably raise it if possible...

      manual configuration isn't allowed though - and the new speeds are for new customers first and existing customers will be upgraded in the next few weeks...

      SO DON'T CALL IN FOR IT AS EVERYONE'LL HAVE TO GO ON DLM - lol!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION