Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    broadband help

    This is a discussion on broadband help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; can anyone please give me some advice about my sky broadband i changed from virgin to sky to have just ...

    1. #1
      stefbhoy's Avatar
      stefbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: sky+hd & sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face broadband help

      can anyone please give me some advice about my sky broadband i changed from virgin to sky to have just the 1 bill and was told i could get up to 6 meg on my line but im getting only 1 meg and its really lagging when it comes 2 xbox live i phoned sky and got the usual take wires out reboot the modem and phone us back stuff but it still isnt getting any better any help would be very much apprieciated thanx


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband help

      best thing to do is to post your router stats so that the techs here can looks at your line to see if its been capped of if theres possibly a fault on our line. Sky can also reduce your ping times which should improve gaming but you have to request this (using the online form seems to work well)

      Its probably best to get your router stats up on here first before doing that though

      Follow the instructions on this page to get your stats and paste them into this thread.

      Sky User - How to use the SkyUser Router Stats Tool

    4. #3
      stefbhoy's Avatar
      stefbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: sky+hd & sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face Re: broadband help

      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed1532 kbps412 kbps
      Line Attenuation35 db19 db
      Noise Margin14 db19 db

      this is the results i think sorry im new to all this thanx

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: broadband help

      Are you in the main telephone socket and is everything else connected to the line using a filter? Do you know if your first telephone socket has a split in the plate going left to right above the screws? If it does then you have a test socket and a set of stats from there will help.

    6. #5
      stefbhoy's Avatar
      stefbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: sky+hd & sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face Re: broadband help

      yes its the main socket ive got a filter on it then my 2 sky boxes conncted with a splitter do i have 2 open the socket to check it thanx

    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband help

      If the master socket face plate has a split left to right then remove the 2 screws and gently pull away. You should then see the test socket. Plug in there and take your stats again. Effectively this procedure takes away any problems with your extensions. Your stats should show an improvement if your extensions are at fault.

    8. #7
      stefbhoy's Avatar
      stefbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: sky+hd & sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face Re: broadband help

      NetGear DG934 [Sky Firmware] V2-Black

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 00:04:51
      PortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp Time
      WANPPPoA32705063025573178000:03:14
      LAN100M/Full2000073000:04:46
      WLAN11M/54M51743530022950189400:04:34
      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed1532 kbps412 kbps
      Line Attenuation36 db19 db
      Noise Margin31 db19 db

      i done as u said heres the results seems the same should i phone sky again to see if theres anything they can do thanx

    9. #8
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband help

      Connection Speed1532 kbps412 kbps

      Line Attenuation36 db19 db NOTE has gone up by 1db

      Noise Margin31 db19 db NOTE snrm has jumped from 14db to 31db
      Which isn't good there is a lot of noise on your line.

    10. #9
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband help

      Quote Originally Posted by stefbhoy View Post
      NetGear DG934 [Sky Firmware] V2-Black

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 00:04:51
      PortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp Time
      WANPPPoA32705063025573178000:03:14
      LAN100M/Full2000073000:04:46
      WLAN11M/54M51743530022950189400:04:34
      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed1532 kbps412 kbps
      Line Attenuation36 db19 db
      Noise Margin31 db19 db

      i done as u said heres the results seems the same should i phone sky again to see if theres anything they can do thanx
      Theres a massive difference in your download noise margin which should let sky increase your speed a lot. I guess this shows theres a problem with either wiring/faceplate/filters.

      Is this how its currently setup?
      Main socket with filter attatched
      Modem into ADSL port (small square port)
      Then you have a splitter in the phone port to feed 2 sky phone lines to your boxes?

      Do you have other phone sockets round the house? if so are they all filtered if there is a phone/fax/skybox attatched?

      Also do you have a wire connected to pin 3 on the main socket? (usually a orange wire) this is a bell wire for old phones which is no longer needed with modern phones and can be removed (can introduced noise to the line)

    11. #10
      stefbhoy's Avatar
      stefbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: sky+hd & sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face Re: broadband help

      the orange wire isnt connected its only the blue and white wires i have no other phone sockets in use is it worth my while buying a new face plate with the filter fitted if so how hard are the to fit thanx

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION