Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 38

    Am I getting a good speed?

    This is a discussion on Am I getting a good speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; With your attenuation you should get 12-14 Mb so there are some noise problems on your line. It looks like ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Am I getting a good speed?

      With your attenuation you should get 12-14 Mb so there are some noise problems on your line. It looks like you were on ADSL2+ and have now been moved back to G.DMT. That being said you have a healthy noise margin which should allow you to sync at the maximum for that mode which is 8+Mbs.

      If you were previously getting 11Mb it suggests something has happened to your line. Can you do a quiet line test by plugging a corded phone into your Test socket and dialling 17070 option 2, you should not hear any crackles or loud noises, only a very quiet hiss at the most. If you do hear noise, report it to your phone rental provider as noise on your voice line. Do not mention broadband or you may be ignored.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      saadjay's Avatar
      saadjay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Victoria
      Broadband ISP: Bethere
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting a good speed?

      They look good but remeber sky cap speed alot so at time you speed will be up and down.

      If you want good speed join be at bethere.co.uk

      i was with sky last year on there mid package got just over 3meg join bethere and now getting 8meg. i like 3.5km from my exchange

    4. #13
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting a good speed?

      Well, this are the stats with the plug still in test socket and router rebooted. Speed capped?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7360 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30 db 16 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 11 db

    5. #14
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting a good speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by saadjay View Post
      They look good but remeber sky cap speed alot so at time you speed will be up and down.

      If you want good speed join be at bethere.co.uk

      i was with sky last year on there mid package got just over 3meg join bethere and now getting 8meg. i like 3.5km from my exchange
      Unfortunately I can't get BE here yet... should be around this month but still no news...

      And yes, I am very suspicious they are capping my speed too... why are they doing this?

    6. #15
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting a good speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      With your attenuation you should get 12-14 Mb so there are some noise problems on your line. It looks like you were on ADSL2+ and have now been moved back to G.DMT. That being said you have a healthy noise margin which should allow you to sync at the maximum for that mode which is 8+Mbs.

      If you were previously getting 11Mb it suggests something has happened to your line. Can you do a quiet line test by plugging a corded phone into your Test socket and dialling 17070 option 2, you should not hear any crackles or loud noises, only a very quiet hiss at the most. If you do hear noise, report it to your phone rental provider as noise on your voice line. Do not mention broadband or you may be ignored.
      I have spoken to a sky technician last night about this. He told me that with my noise margin this is indeed the maximum speed I will ever get. However, from his tone of voice I think he is hiding something. He upped my upload to 768 (where it should be) and did something with my ping for online gaming (although I noticed no difference).

      Has anyone got any experience on how to convince Sky to uncapped their d/l speed if they have a good noise margin?

    7. #16
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Am I getting a good speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by saadjay View Post
      They look good but remeber sky cap speed alot so at time you speed will be up and down.

      If you want good speed join be at bethere.co.uk

      i was with sky last year on there mid package got just over 3meg join bethere and now getting 8meg. i like 3.5km from my exchange
      Unfortunately the above is incorrect. Once any problems with wiring have been resolved, sky do not cap.

    8. #17
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting a good speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Unfortunately the above is incorrect. Once any problems with wiring have been resolved, sky do not cap.
      Hmm, sorry but I don't understand this bit. Do you mean there's problem with my wiring at the moment?

    9. #18
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Am I getting a good speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by jonathanc View Post
      Has anyone got any experience on how to convince Sky to uncapped their d/l speed if they have a good noise margin?
      Your noise margin is still at 8db, which means the router is syncing at the best it can for your line conditions.

      Based on your attenuation, you should get a much higher noise margin for a 7Mb connection (if capped) or if uncapped a NM of around 7db and a sync of over 11Mb.

      Your problem lies with your line and not with sky. You need to resolve your line conditions first.

      Have you tried the quiet line test that ISITME suggested?

    10. #19
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Am I getting a good speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by jonathanc View Post
      Hmm, sorry but I don't understand this bit. Do you mean there's problem with my wiring at the moment?
      Correct, if sky were capping you, then your NM would be significantly higher than it is. As your NM is around the 6-8db mark, then it shows Sky are providing you with the best speed your line is capable of.

      Have you tried:

      - the quiet line test as suggested
      - trying a different ADSL filter

    11. #20
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting a good speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Correct, if sky were capping you, then your NM would be significantly higher than it is. As your NM is around the 6-8db mark, then it shows Sky are providing you with the best speed your line is capable of.

      Have you tried:

      - the quiet line test as suggested
      - trying a different ADSL filter
      Hmm ok I will try the quiet line test in a bit.

      As for the ADSL filter, I only have the ones Sky gave me. I use 2 others in my bedrooms etc. (So I don't have any other filters with me at the moment) Do the filters make any difference?

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION