Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Belkin N1 router won't work :(

    This is a discussion on Belkin N1 router won't work :( within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I have recently bought a new Belkin N1 router because the sky router I have now doesn't have ...

    1. #1
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Belkin N1 router won't work :(

      Hi all,


      I have recently bought a new Belkin N1 router because the sky router I have now doesn't have a decent wifi coverage range. I am using the black Netgear Sky router at the moment.

      The problem I have is that I must enter the username and password. I Googled around and tried a website that generates the username and password. However, I still could not connect to the internet. Everything is fine in the auto setup process until the bit where I must manually enter the details for my BB.

      Anyone have any idea what should I do? Or am I permanently stuck with this sky router?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 router won't work :(

      Are you connecting the N1 to the Sky router? If so,then you don't need the password.

    4. #3
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 router won't work :(

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Are you connecting the N1 to the Sky router? If so,then you don't need the password.
      Well I was hoping that I can bypass the sky router since the N1 connects directly to the phone line.

    5. #4
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 router won't work :(

      edit: anyone know if the password generator website still works? I mean its up but does it give accurate user/pass? I would link the website here if it is allowed.

      Also are my settings correct ?

      VCI 38
      VPI 0
      Encapsulation vcmux
      Timeout : 10 min
      Connection type : PPPoA
      Connection name : I left this field empty...
      Username: myMACaddress@skydsl
      pass: xxxx

    6. #5
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 router won't work :(

      If you mean this one https://www.cm9.net/skypass/ then yes it works provided you follow instruction in detail.

    7. #6
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 router won't work :(

      Quote Originally Posted by joss View Post
      If you mean this one https://www.cm9.net/skypass/ then yes it works provided you follow instruction in detail.
      Yeah I did. Selected the second router from the options list. Also input the exact numbers/letters for MAC and serial found at the back of my router.

      Hmm... did some digging and it seems that using other modem routers are against Sky's ToS ? Sounds pretty risky then....

      This just means I am bound to use their router?

    8. #7
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 router won't work :(

      Well yes it is against the T&C but there are many sky users happily using their own routers without any problems.
      It is well documented about the forum if you do a search.
      My Dg834GT is sat here waiting to go. Just evaluating the Sagem.

    9. #8
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 router won't work :(

      ah yes I see. Well it's very unfortunate then that I can't get my Belkin to work. Keep saying username and password is wrong, I have triple checked the values from the website you linked and still can't seem to connect. Perhaps there's some kind of block implemented?

    10. #9
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 router won't work :(

      No, No block. James the guy who created the program would say 99% of the time the only complaint for not working is if in correct details are entered. Try Copy and pasting in.

      "Sky router password generator

      This page allows you to discover the ADSL username and password of your Sky Netgear DG934G router.

      Enter the requested information and click on the Generate button. All the requested information is available on the label on the bottom of the router. Please note that if you enter incorrect data, you will be given an incorrect result without any error or warning message."
      just carefully enter and check again

    11. #10
      jonathanc's Avatar
      jonathanc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 router won't work :(

      Tbh I am not sure of the model number for my modem. As there are only 3 choices I chose : DG934G since the description of it fits my router the most. It is not dark grey but rather black.

      It is definitely Netgear as the sticker has the name on it. I think it is the v2. Also pretty sure I entered the correct LAN Mac and serial since I did it three separate times already.

      I am now currently using my Belkin as an access point only Is there any much difference if I use the modem as well? Will that improve my appalling speeds?

      Getting 6Mbps out of the 16 I paid for...

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION