Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Sky BB Max! Is it worth me upgrading?

    This is a discussion on Sky BB Max! Is it worth me upgrading? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You have some errors but they are not bad really. Your attenuation should support a sync rate of between 2-3 ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max! Is it worth me upgrading?

      You have some errors but they are not bad really. Your attenuation should support a sync rate of between 2-3 Mbs which you are getting. I don't think you will get much more unless there is a big improvement in the Test socket. Post your results from there.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      djpalmer31's Avatar
      djpalmer31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: SkyHD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max! Is it worth me upgrading?

      Stats thru Test Socket

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.195.162.242 P-t-P:195.189.158.186 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:212 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:133 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:236356 (230.8 KiB) TX bytes:10999 (10.7 KiB)

      Uptime 106.22 91.46
      Wan up 58.95 47.40
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 384 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2176 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.7 14.0
      Attn(dB): 62.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.9 6.9
      Max(Kbps): 2496 864
      Rate (Kbps): 2176 384
      G.dmt framing
      K: 69(0) 13
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 69 13
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.2285 17.1428
      L: 560 112
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 4540 4541
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 154392 18797
      RSCorr: 1432 36
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 396439 0
      Data Cells: 5095 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 18 0
      AS: 78

      INP: 7.31 4.57
      PER: 1.95 1.87
      delay: 35.65 34.28
      OR: 28.71 29.86

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 1 min 46 sec
      SF = 4540
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 46 sec
      SF = 4540
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 46 sec
      SF = 4540
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0
      ChipSet Vendor Id: GSPN:0x 8
      ChipSet VersionNumber: 0x 8
      ChipSet SerialNumber:

    4. #13
      djpalmer31's Avatar
      djpalmer31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: SkyHD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max! Is it worth me upgrading?

      As an additional to the info I've already provided I was wondering if the short extension I hae plugged into my master socket/i-plate would cause problems.

      The two attached photos show the configuration at my master socket. My router is plugged straight into the filter (light grey cable), which is in the master socket. Into the 'phone socket' on the filter is the adapter you can see. The green cable comes from the extension socket that my SkyHD box is plugged into. The other dark grey cable, running into the adpator, comes straight from my cordless telephone base station.

      I then use a powerline network to my PC upstairs.

      Hope this is not too confusing and helps you to understand the set-up I have.

      Thanks for any help.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky BB Max! Is it worth me upgrading?-22062009499.jpg   Sky BB Max! Is it worth me upgrading?-22062009500.jpg  

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max! Is it worth me upgrading?

      That is pretty clear, if you have no extensions wired into the Master socket, you will not get much if any, difference in the Test socket. It means unfortunately that you are more or less stuck with what you have, unless you have noise on your voice line.

      Unless you need a download of more than 10Gb a month you would be wasting your money upgrading to Max. If you need less than 2 Gb a month you would be as well asking to be downgraded to Base, due to the low speed you have available.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      djpalmer31's Avatar
      djpalmer31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: SkyHD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max! Is it worth me upgrading?

      Thanks for your help Isitme.

      I think I'll stick to Mid, or whatever it is now. I do download quite a bit, but I don't think I exceed 10GB.

      Cheers

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION