Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    MAX broadband activated yesterday

    This is a discussion on MAX broadband activated yesterday within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is this normal ? Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time WAN PPPoA 4675 7732 0 ...

    1. #1
      scottmichael85's Avatar
      scottmichael85 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      MAX broadband activated yesterday

      Is this normal ?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4675 7732 0 60 60 0:08:21
      LAN 557220 392506 0 0 0 24:46:52
      WLAN 375627 213312 0 90 74 24:46:24
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.7 db 14.0 db


      i dont know much about what all this means, but from reading about attenuation, 54 line attenuation is very bad right?

      im 2km from exchage according to samknows


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RockoEasynet's Avatar
      RockoEasynet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warrington- LVWAR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MAX broadband activated yesterday

      Thats the length of your line buddy , DLM is probably still running as u only went active yesterday there active till 2weeks if not more.. the Noise Margin or SNR default rate is 6.9 so your downstream speed should be and go higher wait till DLM has finished as it may raise if not go through the support for slow speeds

    4. #3
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MAX broadband activated yesterday

      Quote Originally Posted by scottmichael85 View Post
      Is this normal ?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4675 7732 0 60 60 0:08:21
      LAN 557220 392506 0 0 0 24:46:52
      WLAN 375627 213312 0 90 74 24:46:24
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.7 db 14.0 db


      i dont know much about what all this means, but from reading about attenuation, 54 line attenuation is very bad right?

      im 2km from exchage according to samknows
      With an attenuation of 54db indicates that you are almost 4 KM from the exchange NOT 2.. This would give you close to 5mb sync with throughput of around 3625kbps.

    5. #4
      ghostass's Avatar
      ghostass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MAX broadband activated yesterday

      Hi same here had max activated yesterday is this normal?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 934467 976826 0 184 152 29:54:07
      LAN 305385 448619 0 180 246 29:54:57
      WLAN 682529 502810 0 0 0 29:35:57
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 db 11.9 db
      Noise Margin 18.4 db 22.0 db

      Thanks.

    6. #5
      acbluflame's Avatar
      acbluflame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: High Wycombe - SMHY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      High Wycombe - Bucks - UK
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MAX broadband activated yesterday

      With my limited knowledge, it looks normal. You should see the 16Mbps+ with that line attenuation and noise margin.
      Xfire: acbluflame
      E-mail: phil@sitefrost.com

    7. #6
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MAX broadband activated yesterday

      Quote Originally Posted by ghostass View Post
      Hi same here had max activated yesterday is this normal?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 934467 976826 0 184 152 29:54:07
      LAN 305385 448619 0 180 246 29:54:57
      WLAN 682529 502810 0 0 0 29:35:57
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 db 11.9 db
      Noise Margin 18.4 db 22.0 db

      Thanks.
      Your Sync rate is low. Have you been leaving your router on?

      Are you definately connected to the MasterSocket?
      Odd that your Sync is so low on the 2nd day.
      Wonder why DLM is bringing it down. Attenuation and Snr are fine.
      Should be getting 16mb no probs.

      Leave Your router on, im sure it will increase!

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: MAX broadband activated yesterday

      Sky now start all new Max lines at 4mb and DLM works the spped upwards until it reaches ait's highest stable speed.

      Your stats are fine and you should eventually see near the full 16mb.

      Leave the router on, try not to disconnect it too many times and just wait until the DLM process is finished.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION