Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Faster Internet only with Cable?

    This is a discussion on Faster Internet only with Cable? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I have been using Sky for over a year now, and soon it will be coming up to the ...

    1. #1
      Plxply's Avatar
      Plxply is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northolt
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Faster Internet only with Cable?

      Hello,

      I have been using Sky for over a year now, and soon it will be coming up to the end of my contract with BT. So far I have enjoyed their TV package much more than I did with Virgin Media, and there phone service is also excellent. But I have always had a problem with their internet being extremely slow especially as I am paying for their BB Max, I live rather far from the exchange which is what I presume is the cause. I am currently getting the following stats:

      Connection Speed 2368 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 13.0 db

      Is there any way I can get a faster internet speed or is the only way to move away from Sky and go onto Virgin Media’s broadband? As you can tell I am rather jealous of people complaining of slow internet when they have about 5000kbps.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Faster Internet only with Cable?

      You are getting about as much as your currect setup will allow.

      You need to move closer to the exchange

      Other than that, cable is the only other route

    4. #3
      Plxply's Avatar
      Plxply is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northolt
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faster Internet only with Cable?

      I know this is slightly off topic but, if I do move to Virgin can I still keep my Sky TV subscription?

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Faster Internet only with Cable?

      You can, but I'm not sure if like Sky the broadband is dependent on taking the tv package. If so you will have to pay for two tv packages.


    6. #5
      Gazz380's Avatar
      Gazz380 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitehead (NIWD)
      Broadband ISP: ADSL24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      N.Ireland
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Faster Internet only with Cable?

      Quote Originally Posted by Plxply View Post
      I know this is slightly off topic but, if I do move to Virgin can I still keep my Sky TV subscription?
      You can keep both sky and virgin media, however you would have 2 TV packages, why do you want to keep sky? Freesat HD + VM would make up skys packages

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Faster Internet only with Cable?

      Sky have a lot more HD channels than that

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Faster Internet only with Cable?

      I am not certain but you may not need to take Virgin TV, broadband and phone seem to be all that is required. Standard cost £25 a month.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION