Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

    This is a discussion on New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, New to the forums and new to Sky so any help would be much appreciated I've recently moved ...

    1. #1
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

      Hi All,
      New to the forums and new to Sky so any help would be much appreciated

      I've recently moved into a rented house and ordered Sky Max Broadband.
      I live roughly 584 metres (straight line distance) from the exchange.

      My activation date is today. Currently My Sagem modem/router is turned off (as on the letter it said dont turn it on until its activated)

      Please could someone give me some advice as to when i can turn the router on and also about the "10 day training period" to get best results should i be restarting the modem at anypoint over the 10 days? or just leave it to do its business? Also any idea what kind of speeds i may be expecting from the distance from the exchange?

      Thanks in advance for any replys


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

      turn it on now, in your master socket, and don't turn it off...start speed will be 4Mbps down,512kbps up and this will increase (assuming the line can handle it) over the next 10 days...

      post stats once in sync and we can make an 'informed decision' on likely top speed - but if you are as close as you say you are it'd be around 16Mbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

      Thanks very much for the reply, does it need to be in the master socket? I've only got 2 sockets in the house, the master and a link out of it (using the connector pins inside not the socket) into my lounge so i can connect the xbox via wire when the router is up and running. Can i leave it where it is?

      Thanks

    5. #4
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      turn it on now, in your master socket, and don't turn it off...start speed will be 4Mbps down,512kbps up and this will increase (assuming the line can handle it) over the next 10 days...

      post stats once in sync and we can make an 'informed decision' on likely top speed - but if you are as close as you say you are it'd be around 16Mbps...
      Just powered it on and now have internet access, the router is showing:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.5 db 9.2 db
      Noise Margin 21.4 db 24.0 db

      Does that noise margin look rather high? i thought they should be around 6-10ish?

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

      The higher the better in your situation, as the speed gets higher the NM will get lower until it stops at 6.9db.

      So the higher the NM the faster the speeds will eventually be after DLM

    7. #6
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

      Ah i see that makes a bit more sense now, i've been reading thorugh posts and was struggling to understand why it was so high, presumably because my line has DLM running on it and set to sync at a low speed its causing NM to be high right?

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

      Yes, the speed is capped down at the moment which is keeping the noise margin high, as the speed increases the noise margin will decrease.

      When the noise margin hits its default value of 6.9db the speed will be at it's maximum with stability.

    9. #8
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

      Thanks for clearing that up, i'll keep an eye on it and post stats once the 10days is up. I was a bit nervous that the extension i ran from the main socket the other day might have been causing the noise level! Also the socket i attatched has a built in micro-filter with ADSL output and Phone output so wasnt sure if that was maybe faulty.

      I'll keep an eye on it.

      Thanks again

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

      If the extra socket with the built in filter is an extension off the master then remember you will also need to filter any phone that is also using the master socket this includes faxes and the Sky receiver etc.

    11. #10
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Max User, Activation Today, Advice Needed Please :)

      Theres currently nothing in the master socket but i've put a filter on it anyway, hopefully thats correct or should i remove it?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION