Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    How are my sky max stats (New user)

    This is a discussion on How are my sky max stats (New user) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 12284 kbps 412 kbps Line Attenuation 16.0 db 6.9 db Noise Margin 8.1 db ...

    1. #1
      supersonic147's Avatar
      supersonic147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How are my sky max stats (New user)

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12284 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16.0 db 6.9 db
      Noise Margin 8.1 db 8.0 db

      Sky User Broadband speed tester
      We have detected that your ISP is Sky - Your current download speed is 9848Kbps, and your current upload speed is 337Kbps.

      Activation date 29/5/09 - Activated on correct date

      1st post here, hope its in correct forum, let me know if you need more info.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How are my sky max stats (New user)

      It looks like you're currently on DLM. This isn't indicative of your final speeds, you're practically on the exchange's doorstep so you should eventually get something close to the 16 Mbps maximum as long as you have a clean line. However, you must leave your router switched on over the coming 10 days whilst line testing takes place.

    4. #3
      supersonic147's Avatar
      supersonic147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How are my sky max stats (New user)

      Thanks for the quick reply, i did think being so to the exchange would be a bonus and wasnt sure if I was on DLM. Fingers crossed I should end up with better speed even though I am reasonably happy so far.

    5. #4
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How are my sky max stats (New user)

      You can always check if you're on DLM by logging on to the Sky website and looking in your Broadband / Service Details page.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How are my sky max stats (New user)

      sync is low for attenuation - you should be seeing a better speed/higher SNR if capped at present so need to know how you're setup...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How are my sky max stats (New user)

      Noise Margin 8.1* db 8.0 db
      *This is the worrying figure, if it were just DLM holding the speed down this figure would be much higher. Plug into your Test socket, take the stats from there and post here. If you do have problems it is better getting them sorted out now, before DLM completes its training.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How are my sky max stats (New user)

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      *This is the worrying figure, if it were just DLM holding the speed down this figure would be much higher. Plug into your Test socket, take the stats from there and post here. If you do have problems it is better getting them sorted out now, before DLM completes its training.
      Not necessarily. Whilst mine was going through DLM on a number of occasions the SNR margin was down around 7 db figure and I was only getting a connection speed of 387 kbps down. Personally I wouldn't worry about anything until DLM is complete.

    9. #8
      supersonic147's Avatar
      supersonic147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How are my sky max stats (New user)

      there is no test socket inside the house just two standard phone sockets which were pre installed when the house was built, the wiring must be behind the plaster nothing runs along the skirts, there is a grey box outside that the main phone line is connected to. My router is connected to the second socket in the kitchen which is about 30ft from the outside box. I have filters connected on both sockets and in the front room a cordless phone is all thats plugged in along with the sky box.

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: How are my sky max stats (New user)

      Is the filter plugged into the sky tv adaptor or into the socket itself?

    11. #10
      supersonic147's Avatar
      supersonic147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How are my sky max stats (New user)

      plugged into the sky adapter is that best?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION