Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Noise v Attenuation....

    This is a discussion on Noise v Attenuation.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just been back on the phone - After my first call, and a good conversation with the CSR guy, we ...

    1. #11
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise v Attenuation....

      Just been back on the phone - After my first call, and a good conversation with the CSR guy, we agreed that it would be best to leave the cap @ 8mb, as the line was stable etc etc..

      Turns out - HIS manager decided 5.5mb was more appropriate!!!

      Just had a nightmare getting it lifted back to 8mb, the CSR guy telling me that he COULDN'T put it at 8mb as the line would not take it - Regardless of the fact it's been @ 8mb since day one!

      Mike


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Noise v Attenuation....

      that'd be an auto-regrade...which is carried out by the queue managers but not done by hand...it would seem the person you spoke to though didn't think it necessary to check the previous notes which would show old sync speed (assuming it was put in the ticket which it should've)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      Sibling Chris's Avatar
      Sibling Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise v Attenuation....

      BTW - your noise margin going up is a good thing....its doesn;t mean there is more noise on the line

      Noise Margin? DSL FAQ - dslreports.com

      sky say they usually aim for about 7db
      Personally I've had trouble with anything less than 5db but I don;t get particulalrly high speeds

      I just went through this with CST - I convinced hem to lift the cap on my line to allow it to deliver the max it can, even though they thoiught it would introduce more errors on the line....it didn't (or hasn;t as yet!)

      in theory you should be able to get 7-8Mb on your line

      if you don't want o get a a new filtered face plate (they are not expensive) then you could remove the ringwire cable on your extension, that should help a great deal, but you will still haev to use the micro-filters

      check out the cabling and faceplate forum - I foudn it a massive help

    5. #14
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise v Attenuation....

      Ring wire was removed as soon as BT left after installing the line

      To add insult to injury, now down to 6133... Been on phone and they say thats all the line will handle?????

      Sometimes I despair, I now have a SLOWER cap than when I satarted this morning!

      Mike

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Noise v Attenuation....

      I don't like saying I told you so, but I did say "The less Sky fiddle with it the better."

      You are on G.DMT and the cap for this is 8Mb which with your attenuation, you were very lucky to get from your test socket. All you can do is ask them again to remove the cap and allow the router to do its job. The only time a cap is needed is when there is very large swings in the noise present on the line, which the router cannot absorb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise v Attenuation....

      Capped back @ 8mb this morning, all is back to normal....

      Mike

    8. #17
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise v Attenuation....

      Update...

      Better than normal actually - DSL has been @ 7832/768 for 192 hours now... Previously it would disconnect and resync at least a couple of times a day

      So moving the router to the master socket has paid off in my case. Wireless is a LOT better, as all the laptops/wireless stuff tends to be used on the ground floor, which is where the router is now, previously it was in my office two floors up, next to PC, laser printer etc.. Main PC now connected with the Devolo high speed LAN plugs, usually right on 85mb speed, so all is hunky dory.

      Mike

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION