Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Help obtaining best broadband speed please

    This is a discussion on Help obtaining best broadband speed please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm new to Sky, previously having been with Virgin cable broadband, so this is all very new to me. ...

    1. #1
      Franchise_mark's Avatar
      Franchise_mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Help obtaining best broadband speed please

      Hi, I'm new to Sky, previously having been with Virgin cable broadband, so this is all very new to me. Having scoured the posts on this forum, it is becoming more and more confusing, so starting a fresh thread and posting my stats etc. seems the best way to go.

      I subscribed to Broadband Max and the speed estimate given was 4.5Mb. The acitivation date was 13 May. On 21 May My Account showed that testing had been completed on 21 May 2009 and the D/L speed was set at 0.4Mb (384 kb) and U/L at 0.8 Mb (800 kb).

      There had been problems with the BT line in the road affecting myself and neighbours since we moved in on 30 April, but by this time BT had fixed the line and my neighbour reported achieving 6Mb with Sky.

      I contacted Sky by email and on 23 May received the following reply:-

      "I have collaborated with our customer solutions department, who have re-configured the settings on your broadband line. Please monitor your connection for the next 48hrs, and if you continue to experience any issues, feel free to contact us again."

      The speed increased to over 3Mb but still short of the potential maximum.

      The bungalow has telephone extension leads everywhere and I suspected that the wiring might be to blame. As the Master socket is a long way from my desktop computer, I moved the sky router to the master socket and connected the computer via a Belkin G+ USB wireless adapter. There has been no improvement in the speed as a result.

      Sky's response on 25 May was:

      " I have looked into this for you and that most your line can handle is around the 4mb, this can be caused by the telephone line, the distance from the exchange or equipment on your line.

      We have a system that runs in the back ground that will set your line to the best speed and most reliable service your line can handle."

      My latest stats, taken today are:

      Download Speed;

      Connection Speed 3582 Kbps
      Line Attentuation 50.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9db

      Upload Speed

      Connection Speed 764 Kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.2 db
      Noise Margin 12.0db

      Should I be able to achieve more than this? Any help would be very much appreciated.

      Thanks.

      Mark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help obtaining best broadband speed please

      Take a set of stats from the main socket and record them, then plug the router into the test socket if you have one and get a new set of stats. Post both sets back here.

    4. #3
      Franchise_mark's Avatar
      Franchise_mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Help obtaining best broadband speed please

      Hi PaulSky, and thank you for the quick response. Here are the results.

      Main Socket
      Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3582 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.5 db 27.2 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 13.0 db

      Test Socket

      Connection speed 3582 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.5 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.3 db 12.5 db

      Look forward to hearing from you.

      Mark

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help obtaining best broadband speed please

      There is definate issues with the internal wiring, your noise margin has gone from 7.2 to 9.3 when you moved into the test socket. This is helping to keep your speed down and the speeds will only increase once you have sorted out the wiring and then emailed Sky back with new stats so that CST can raise your cap again.

    6. #5
      Franchise_mark's Avatar
      Franchise_mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Help obtaining best broadband speed please

      Thanks PaulSky.

      It seems that the best solution would be to install a new faceplate and run the wireless router directly from that, and my new telephone from that as well. That should isolate all the other extensions currently running from the socket.
      Please let me know if I am way off course (again!).

      Thanks

      Mark
      Last edited by Franchise_mark; 28-05-09 at 03:03 PM. Reason: Typo

    7. #6
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help obtaining best broadband speed please

      You are on the right track, a filtered faceplate would split the phone and ADSL signal at the point it enters the house.
      This is the one that i use, it came from ADSL Nation i have put a link to it below for you to have alook at, this also gets rid of all the micro filters from the sockets.

      ADSL Nation LTD.

    8. #7
      Franchise_mark's Avatar
      Franchise_mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Help obtaining best broadband speed please

      Thanks Andy - I'll give it a go.

      Mark.

    9. #8
      Franchise_mark's Avatar
      Franchise_mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Help obtaining best broadband speed please

      The faceplate arrived very quickly and is now installed. The Wireless router feeds directly from that at the Master Socket.

      All the existing telephone wiring has been disconnected and a new cable run to the only remaining extension. My telephone and the HD+ box are connected at this extension. The rather complicated wiring to connect the HD+ box has been simplified and all the filters have been removed.

      The net result is that the Line attenuation has dropped to 49.5 db and the Noise Margin has increased to 8.3/8.4 db consistently.

      Sky have been emailed to request that the cap is lifted, and we wait to see if the speed increases from 3582 kbytes.

      Thanks for your help.

      Mark
      Last edited by Franchise_mark; 01-06-09 at 07:37 PM. Reason: Typo

    10. #9
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help obtaining best broadband speed please

      Thats great, it now looks like you are getting near enough the test socket results which is perfect, you may get alittle more, could get to 4mb if you are lucky.

      Hope it stays that way and you have no more trouble with it.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION