Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 31

    ADSL Nation, BT test sockets Info..

    This is a discussion on ADSL Nation, BT test sockets Info.. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have noticed that many people on here speak well of the ADSL nation faceplates and using BT test ...

    1. #1
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL Nation, BT test sockets Info..

      Hi,
      I have noticed that many people on here speak well of the ADSL nation faceplates and using BT test sockets to diagnose router/line problems. Can anyone clarify how I would test the BT socket directly and if my line were to show downstream connection speeds of 8128 kbps could the speeds improve by using the faceplates or is it mainly to raise the noise margin [currently 5.5]?

      Lastly, do you need RJ11 cable clamping tool to terminate the wires?

      Thanx

      Gary


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      you can plug into the test socket behind the bt master socket. usually this will give a representation of the speed/noise margin you will get with the filtered faceplate.

    4. #3
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK, so I simply take off the current faceplate and behind there should be a single RJ11 socket?

      ADSL nations has no stock till October 10th, just my luck!

      G

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      ADSL nations has no stock till October 10th, just my luck!
      Not a surprise with all the members that have gone there from here to get one
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by garyb View Post
      OK, so I simply take off the current faceplate and behind there should be a single RJ11 socket?
      the faceplate has 2 halves to it.

      you can unscrew the bottom part, and behind it is a test socket. (standard bt style)
      in that you can plug in your filter, or directly connect it to your router, then check the snr and see if it has made a difference.

    7. #6
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi,
      Ran some tests on every BT socket in house with a variety of connections, which I have attached as PDF. Hoping someone can identify where my best connection is, but to be honest I'm confused as to why the line reports 8000kbps but browsing maxes out at around 4000kbps

      3 story house
      Master socket on floor 1, extension socket on floor 3 and PC on floor 2.

      Odd

      G
      Attached Files Attached Files

    8. #7
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NowTV 40/10 & VM 200 Gamer
      Router: Netgear R7000 with XWRT-Vortex
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,233
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 140 Times in 107 Posts

    9. #8
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Nice one. Are they pretty much the same as the ADSL nation types? Is there a possiblty that one would improve performance after looking at my atached stats, I wont hold you to it!

      thanx again
      G

    10. #9
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NowTV 40/10 & VM 200 Gamer
      Router: Netgear R7000 with XWRT-Vortex
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,233
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 140 Times in 107 Posts
      i bought the entire box not the faceplate.

      when i installed the solwise box my sync speed jumped up by 1000, thats only because the original bt faceplate was old and needed replacing.

    11. #10
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      your master test socket shows the best result.
      doesnt show the best speed test but thats another issue, you sync speed is higher and your noise margin is the highest there.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION