Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 31

    ADSL Nation, BT test sockets Info..

    This is a discussion on ADSL Nation, BT test sockets Info.. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by andrewjr i bought the entire box not the faceplate. when i installed the solwise box my sync ...

    1. #11
      jonandmarkuk's Avatar
      jonandmarkuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilkeston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Ilkeston
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      i bought the entire box not the faceplate.

      when i installed the solwise box my sync speed jumped up by 1000, thats only because the original bt faceplate was old and needed replacing.
      Can you clarify what you mean by the box as I was of the understanding that customers are not allowed to change the Master socket itself? Is that what you meant.

      I fitted an ADSL Nation faceplate and to be honest was VERY disappointed as it did nothing to improve my stats. All it means it it looks far neater on the wall.
      I know some people had huge improvements, but I think they must have had a problem with the internal house wiring to get such an improvement.
      I also have to say ADSL Nation were not all that interested in it not improving my connection. They just said that could be the line into the house, but I'm certain I got better results straight into the Master socket (so expected the same from the faceplate. Which I don't appear to be getting)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      tinx's Avatar
      tinx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham Carfax SDHRSHM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I did a test today on my test socket. On my usual socket which is simply a 3 metre extension fomr the master socket I get a sync speed of around 3500Kbps.

      On the test socket I synced at 7800kbps.

      Can anyone tell me whether if I replace the faceplate with the adsl nation one I am likely to get closer to the 7800kbps as I can easily run a 3metre rj11 cable direct from my new faceplate if so.

      I was so surprised how big a difference the test socket was over the master socket in the faceplate.

    4. #13
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Yes - a filtered faceplate should give you very similar results to the test socket. Make sure you use the highest possible quality connection from socket to the router though.
      Last edited by Saturday; 26-09-06 at 10:21 PM.

    5. #14
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      @ tinx

      thats what i did and now got a super new speed :-)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #15
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Make sure you use the highest possible quality connection from socket to the router though.
      Don't you just use the telephone connector they sent in the kit or is there something else you are using

    7. #16
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      @jonandmarkuk

      Somethings wrong then. You should get very similar results from a filtered faceplate as from the test socket.

      Maybe do a test - with faceplate in place and then removed and using the test socket?

    8. #17
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dingdong View Post
      Don't you just use the telephone connector they sent in the kit or is there something else you are using
      He wants it 3 metres long. Cheap and nasty RJ11 cable may give problems at that length.
      Last edited by Saturday; 26-09-06 at 10:33 PM.

    9. #18
      tinx's Avatar
      tinx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham Carfax SDHRSHM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      He wants it 3 metres long. Cheap and nasty RJ11 cable may give problems at that length.
      Indeed, I think when I order the face plate I will order the professional rj11 cable on adsl nation.

      Thanks for the advice chaps, you've sold me on one of the nation face plates, just a shame its a wait until october 10th for one at the moment.

    10. #19
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok, to clarify,
      The 3 products I have looked at, are below. Will all pretty much do the same job, and if people have extensions round the house, will they need to also buy the IDC insertion tool as featured here?http://www.clarity.it/xcart/product....cat=262&page=1

      http://www.solwise.co.uk/adsl_splitters.htm - ADSL Master Faceplate Splitter
      http://www.adslnation.com/products/xte2005.php - XTE-2005
      http://www.clarity.it/xcart/product....cat=262&page=1

      Finally, is it possible to then run a CAT5e cable from the faceplate to the router and ditch the RJ11 cable.

      Not sure any of the above will assist my sluggish speed problems, but its worth trying for the sake of 15 I suppose.

      Cheers
      G

    11. #20
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      All good products Gary

      No it will not work they are both designed to do different things
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION