Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Speed drop on Sky Max

    This is a discussion on Speed drop on Sky Max within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had a pretty much solid 14Mb connection for the 2 months I have had Sky Max. Today my stats ...

    1. #1
      jt999's Avatar
      jt999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexhill (01424)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bexhill-on-sea
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed drop on Sky Max

      I've had a pretty much solid 14Mb connection for the 2 months I have had Sky Max.

      Today my stats have changed to:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7254 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 33.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 9.0 db

      I've checked my wiring and all seems fine. Also the Sky website says the following for my connection:

      Your Sky Broadband
      You have Sky Broadband Max which offers a maximum download speed of up to 16Mb
      Speed Estimate
      When you purchased Sky Broadband, we estimated that the maximum download speed for your line was: 8-16Mb

      Your connection details
      Line connection testing completed on 23/05/2009
      Download Speed
      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to
      17.6Mb (18016Kb)
      Upload Speed
      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to
      1.3Mb (1312Kb)

      Any idea whats going on? I have also tried rebooting the router just to make sure it hadn't locked up


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Speed drop on Sky Max

      Quote Originally Posted by jt999 View Post
      I've had a pretty much solid 14Mb connection for the 2 months I have had Sky Max.

      Today my stats have changed to:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7254 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 33.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 9.0 db

      I've checked my wiring and all seems fine.
      Something horrible has happened somewhere. Your attenuation would easily support 16meg (actually, close to 20meg if they offered it) so if you were only getting 14meg then there's always been some issue.

      When you say "seems fine", what are your stats in the test socket (if you have one)?

    4. #3
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop on Sky Max

      Strange indeed. You say you have been connected for a couple of months, yet
      Line connection testing completed on 23/05/2009 !

      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to
      17.6Mb (18016Kb)
      Upload Speed
      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to
      1.3Mb (1312Kb)

      It would seem that you Might be in receipt of the much mentioned speed increase.
      Just a thought. I would give CST a ring to find out what is happening.

    5. #4
      jt999's Avatar
      jt999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexhill (01424)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bexhill-on-sea
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop on Sky Max

      It's miraculously gone back to normal now - still not sure what happened though!
      I did originally start on 16mb but I was having problems with wireless so had to reboot my router a lot during the DLM period so I guess they lowered it to 14 assuming it wasn't stable. I also noticed the have ran another connection test - how often do they perform these? My last one completed 23rd April so is it monthly?

      I haven't tried my test socket (or checked if I had one) as it's in an awkward place so as long as it's working I am happy!

      Thanks for your help guys - nice to see a freindly forum for this kind of thing

      Stats now are:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18008 kbps 1002 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.0 db 7.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 8.0 db

    6. #5
      jid's Avatar
      jid
      jid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bridgend
      Broadband ISP: Tiscali
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop on Sky Max

      I can see that your Attenuation has changed quite a bit, which could mean a line fault.

      It could be a dodgy extension causing the change in attenuation (and line speed)

      However it seems ok at the moment so leave it and see if it stays all ok.

      If it goes funny again post up your stats and possibly connect and take stats while connected to the Test socket.
      Regards

      Jamie


      (Tiscali LLU 8meg ; Sync: 7872kbps ; Attenuation: 30dB)

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop on Sky Max

      I haven't tried my test socket (or checked if I had one) as it's in an awkward place so as long as it's working I am happy!
      Nice to see someone who is happy with 18Mb, many would want to know why they were not getting the full 24

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      jt999's Avatar
      jt999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexhill (01424)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bexhill-on-sea
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop on Sky Max

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Nice to see someone who is happy with 18Mb, many would want to know why they were not getting the full 24
      18 is more than enough for me - don't see why anyone needs more than that for home use! Also don't think I can get 24 here!

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop on Sky Max

      You may be able to, if you plugged into your Test socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION