Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Is it over? DLM that is

    This is a discussion on Is it over? DLM that is within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi peeps I am on the sky max product. We were switched over mid day Monday the 18th of May ...

    1. #1
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is it over? DLM that is

      Hi peeps
      I am on the sky max product. We were switched over mid day Monday the 18th of May 2009. Just had a look in my sky.com under the Broadband service details.

      This is what I seen-
      Your connection details

      Line connection testing completed on 23/05/2009
      Download Speed

      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to
      8.0Mb (8192Kb)

      Upload Speed
      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to
      0.8Mb (800Kb)

      Have I been Capped at 8mb ? It seems so to me. Here are my line stats

      System Up Time: 125:01:42
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2966840 4971868 0 0 0 85:44:02
      LAN 6832941 4160174 0 0 0 125:01:42
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8191 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db 15.8 db
      Noise Margin 12.8 db 14.5 db

      I reckon I should be syncing at around 14-16mb I am 1.7km from the exchange.
      When with Zen I was syncing at the full 8128kbps no problems and very stable line.
      So what can I do about this? Who do I need to speak to ?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is it over? DLM that is

      it does seem DLM has finished and left you at 8Mbps...might be for a reason, might not...

      best call and have CST take a look...don't expect 16Mbps, though...13-14 should be good...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it over? DLM that is

      All sorted now


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13081 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db 15.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 12.0 db

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is it over? DLM that is

      nice one!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Is it over? DLM that is

      Quote Originally Posted by joss View Post
      All sorted now


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13081 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db 15.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 12.0 db
      How did you sort it?

    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it over? DLM that is

      I rang the broadband team and they did it there and then. Mind I will be ringing again as its dropped to 11mb from 13mb

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is it over? DLM that is

      Your noise margin was right on the default, there is a good chance noise on the line has increased causing a drop and resync. Putting it back up would probably result in another drop.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it over? DLM that is

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your noise margin was right on the default, there is a good chance noise on the line has increased causing a drop and resync. Putting it back up would probably result in another drop.
      See this is why I miss my Net gear DG834GT running TeamDG firmwear.
      When with Zen on 8mb pro it would hold a 6db SNRM no problem. Mind I did rip out the crappy internal wire and replace it with Cat 5 shielded twisted pair and an ADSL nation XFT face plate. BT external wire is all new to the pole.

      LLU is different I know and I am still learning...

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is it over? DLM that is

      You could try using one of the router programs like Router Stats this would give you an idea of when the noise margin is falling and may lead you to a reason. If this will not run on your router, others may be able to suggest an alternative.

      DMT is another which may help - DMT (DSL-Modem Tool)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it over? DLM that is

      Thanks Isitme.
      I am very familiar with both those programs. Unfortunately, neither will work with the Sagem f@ast. As far as I am aware. If anyone knows different please let me know.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION