Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    Mid Package - as good as it gets?

    This is a discussion on Mid Package - as good as it gets? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have just upgraded from Base to Mid as I now download more data. My speed has gone from ...

    1. #1
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Question Mid Package - as good as it gets?

      Hi, I have just upgraded from Base to Mid as I now download more data. My speed has gone from a 2MB connection to 3MB. From the stats below is this as good as I can expect? (Taken from Master Socket). Thanks.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 256 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3072 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 22.4 13.0
      Attn(dB): 39.0 26.0
      Pwr(dBm): 17.3 0.6
      Max(Kbps): 8320 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 3072 256


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Mid Package - as good as it gets?

      You should do much better. It looks like your throughput is capped at 3072. You have plenty of noise margin in hand and should get 9-10 Mb. Check in your MySky Broadband Details page and if it does not show your line is training, phone Sky and ask them to lift the cap on your connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Mid Package - as good as it gets?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You should do much better. It looks like your throughput is capped at 3072. You have plenty of noise margin in hand and should get 9-10 Mb. Check in your MySky Broadband Details page and if it does not show your line is training, phone Sky and ask them to lift the cap on your connection.
      Tom, thanks for your quick reply. Under My Sky "Connection Details" it says service is currently unavailable!! I assume that is the right place to look?

      I did not realise that the Mid package goes through a training period. I only upgraded this afternoon, how long does the training take?

      thanks again for your help.

    5. #4
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mid Package - as good as it gets?

      Line training takes 10 days approx. I was activated on the 21st but according to the service details my line testing only started today. BTW the service seemed to be down earlier but is now woking OK.

      Also bear in mind that 3 mbps is now the initial speed Sky set for all Mid customers, Max starts at 4 Mbps.

    6. #5
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mid Package - as good as it gets?

      Did the sales agent not tell you that your line would start off at 3mb or that there was a training period?

    7. #6
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Mid Package - as good as it gets?

      Quote Originally Posted by MrStabby View Post
      Did the sales agent not tell you that your line would start off at 3mb or that there was a training period?
      No, never said anything about it. I was talking to retentions though.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Mid Package - as good as it gets?

      I am not sure DLM has started, when it does the mode is switched to ADSL2+. These stats show the line is still on G.DMT.

      @dgilbert2
      You say these stats are from the Test socket? Where was it plugged in before? It is possible your previous position caused the line to be capped, moving to the Test isolates the problem and gives you a good noise margin. Taking the sats from your original position would show if this is the case.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Mid Package - as good as it gets?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I am not sure DLM has started, when it does the mode is switched to ADSL2+. These stats show the line is still on G.DMT.

      @dgilbert2
      You say these stats are from the Test socket? Where was it plugged in before? It is possible your previous position caused the line to be capped, moving to the Test isolates the problem and gives you a good noise margin. Taking the sats from your original position would show if this is the case.
      When using the test socket I was pleased that there was negligible difference, eg 0.2 db for some of the parameters.

      This morning on base my speeds were 2MB up, 400K down (as its been for 2.5 years)
      Tonight on Mid its 3MB up, 256K down.

      When does the normally DLM start?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Mid Package - as good as it gets?

      When does the normally DLM start?
      Normally it seems to start 2-3 days after the line has been activated. I am not sure DLM will be put on your line as it is not really a new connection.

      I would phone Sky and ask them to trouble-shoot your connection for speed as you think you should be getting much more. Phone now and you will have a good chance of getting something done. Plug back into the Test socket if you are not already in it as Tier 1 will ask you to do this. Jump through the hoops until T1 pass you to CST who should be able to fix you in minutes.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Mid Package - as good as it gets?

      I just phoned Sky and a helpful lady confirmed my line supports 7-8MB, much higher than I'm getting so there is "definitely a problem".

      Unfortunately there is a problem with their CST department links so I could not be put through. I've been given a reference number and someone should phone me tomorrow with what they have done. We'll have to wait and see now!

      I've just had a thought, I'm using the Netgear firmware and not Skys, does that matter?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION