Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

    This is a discussion on How Do I Stop Broadband From Working? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Folks, Is there any way of making the broadband appear to be "broken"? Have tried simply disabling the connection ...

    1. #1
      trundlecat's Avatar
      trundlecat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

      Hi Folks,

      Is there any way of making the broadband appear to be "broken"? Have tried simply disabling the connection but it starts up again on reboot. Have been looking through the services but can't fathom out which one to switch to manual to stop it starting up again automatically. Does anyone know? I'm off out for the day on Monday & need to keep the person babysitting the kids off the internet (& actually babysitting) however I don't want them to know I've done it purposely (family politics).

      Thanks in advance,
      TC


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

      turn off and hide the router?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

      Alternatively you could set the schedule to dis allow connection for that time period. If you can't do that then take the fuse out of the power plug.

    5. #4
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

      Take the fuse out of the plug for the router

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

      I think the easiest way to do this is to put www and in the blocked sites list. This will bring up this message when you try to enter a site


      If you want to try this, go into the router settings click Block Sites, tick Always and enter www in the keyword box. Click Add Keyword and then Apply. If anything is said you can always blame Sky To put it back as it was, highlight www and click Delete Keyword, click Apply
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?-capture.jpg  

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      757
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

      try this Locker from kids free download Protect your computer and internet connection with Lock computer from kids tools. Scheduler computer work. Protect your computer and internet connection with Lock computer from kids tools. Scheduler computer work. Sched

      it might be what you want.

      Description:
      Protect your computer and internet connection with Lock computer from kids tools. Scheduler computer work. Schedule Internet connection. Are tou parent? Do you want to admin time of computer work? This tools include a network version. It controll an Internet connection. It control of attempts on chargeable phone services. Spend 15 dollars, and save much more money. Lock Windows at boot system, Lock Windows at suspend system, Lock, Suspend or Shutdown easily with once click, Powerful schedule Shutdown/Restart/Suspend system, Autosave applications on Shutdown time, Autorun saved applications when system start, Autorun any applications when system start, Advanced power management, Windows List with Show/Minimize/Maximize/Hide functions, Process list with Icon/ID/Type/Priority/Kill functions, Powerful administration tools.

    8. #7
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think the easiest way to do this is to put www and in the blocked sites list. This will bring up this message when you try to enter a site


      If you want to try this, go into the router settings click Block Sites, tick Always and enter www in the keyword box. Click Add Keyword and then Apply. If anything is said you can always blame Sky To put it back as it was, highlight www and click Delete Keyword, click Apply
      Me/ makes note for reference.

    9. #8
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      757
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think the easiest way to do this is to put www and in the blocked sites list. This will bring up this message when you try to enter a site


      If you want to try this, go into the router settings click Block Sites, tick Always and enter www in the keyword box. Click Add Keyword and then Apply. If anything is said you can always blame Sky To put it back as it was, highlight www and click Delete Keyword, click Apply

      this works ONLY if you have google as your home page it does not work with MSN as home page

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

      I don't really see what the home page has to do with blocking www. All sites whose address starts www should be blocked. I don't have Google as my home page

      Try it, your home page if you are using MSN may open but you will not get much further.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Do I Stop Broadband From Working?

      Change the ip addresses on the PC.
      Manually assign them and leave the Default Gateway blank xD

      Or go into your firewall and shut down internet access lol

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION