Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    I am recieving 0.3MB instead of 16MB. Sky Max!

    This is a discussion on I am recieving 0.3MB instead of 16MB. Sky Max! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Okay, so firstly, if you need anything (details etc) ask. And direct me on how to do it too please ...

    1. #1
      AcidisChemical's Avatar
      AcidisChemical is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I am recieving 0.3MB instead of 16MB. Sky Max!

      Okay, so firstly, if you need anything (details etc) ask. And direct me on how to do it too please

      Okay, so I have a T.V + Phone + Sky Broadband package. It's the max one, which means I should be getting a 16 MB connection for my internet. But ever since I joined Sky (2months+) The best connection I ever got was 0.6MB and my average is 0.3MB. This is appualing. I don't even know if all of the wires are connected correctly, and I'm not saying Sky's service is appualing, I haven't contacted them yet, just want some help here so I don't have to bother them.

      (As with every single service in this whole universe, they'll say "Yeah, we're testing you and you're getting a 50MB connection..." Me :: Dood, I'm supposed to get 16MB maximum... "Oh yeah, 7 MB, that's what I...."

      I have no idea why this is, at all. Please help me out? I don't care how stupid your answer is, just help me please


      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 2:52:38
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 90488 145473 0 0 0 2:51:20
      LAN 146170 90794 0 0 0 2:52:38
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 2:52:11
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 160 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 57.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 10.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

      I have no idea if any of this will help, but I need help



      (Here's a link in case that didn't work http://www.speedtest.net/result/478662071.png
      )


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Bufferz's Avatar
      Bufferz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Wallasey, Nr. Liverpool
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am recieving 0.3MB instead of 16MB. Sky Max!

      Firstly, unplug any connections you have to the BT master socket(extensions, etc), then remove the front plate and stick the router into the test socket, and show the same stats as above.....
      With SkyBB:


    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: I am recieving 0.3MB instead of 16MB. Sky Max!

      With that attenuation the best you can hope for is 2.5 meg.
      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained
      There is something wrong that will require a call to sky, but before you do check your internal wiring is in order.
      Cabling and faceplate help
      As buffer says above the first thing to check is the stats in the TEST socket.


    5. #4
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am recieving 0.3MB instead of 16MB. Sky Max!

      yes double and triple check the speed you get in the test socket. My neighbor has sky max and only get about 4-5 meg when his phone extensions are plugged in and the full15-16 meg when they are not. But his problem is that they are connected BEHIND the face plate.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am recieving 0.3MB instead of 16MB. Sky Max!

      How many extensions do you have? If you have a Test socket, make sure that all of them are dead when the faceplate is removed.

      At the moment you are showing the maximum attenuation your router is capable of, which means you could be much further from the exchange than it appears. It means you may already be getting the maximum your line can take. Plug into your test socket and post the stats as already suggested.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: I am recieving 0.3MB instead of 16MB. Sky Max!

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      With that attenuation the best you can hope for is 2.5 meg......
      63.5dB is the highest attenuation that a router can report, so the attenuation could well be higher, and so this may be the best speed the OP is going to get. Looking at the noise margins, it certainly looks that way.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION