Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Downstream change

    This is a discussion on Downstream change within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You have been moved to ADSL2+ which, with the resyncing you are experiencing means your testing has started. With your ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Downstream change

      You have been moved to ADSL2+ which, with the resyncing you are experiencing means your testing has started. With your speed at the moment and your noise margin it looks like your speed may actually improve. Wait until it is complete and see how your speeds are.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Yorkieair's Avatar
      Yorkieair is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Moortown
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Leeds - West Yorks
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lightbulb Re: Downstream change

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You have been moved to ADSL2+ which, with the resyncing you are experiencing means your testing has started. With your speed at the moment and your noise margin it looks like your speed may actually improve. Wait until it is complete and see how your speeds are.
      Thanks for the information, will leave router on and try to be patient and hope the connection does not reduce much further - after the last debacle when Sky imposed DLM and the hassle of getting back to G.DMT confidence is not high.

      My Sky still states line testing is not currently in progress, so this must be another system failure - incidentally how do you interpret that I am now specifically on ADSL2+, or whatever mode?

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Downstream change

      incidentally how do you interpret that I am now specifically on ADSL2+,
      Mainly by the increase in your attenuation.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Yorkieair's Avatar
      Yorkieair is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Moortown
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Leeds - West Yorks
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Post Re: Downstream change

      Saga continues - now back to where this thread started in early May with 50% speed reduction! From last post 27th connection stayed up for some 95 hours with downstream noise up and down a little and settling out at 10. Then it went pear shaped:

      System Up Time: 97:37:14 - Sun 30/08/09 @ 19:50 (Heavy rain!)
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1530 kbps 382 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63 db 39 db
      Noise Margin 1 db 9 db

      19:55 pages not loading - reboot necessary

      System Up Time: 00:01:04 - Sun 30/08/09 @ 19:58 Rain!
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1530 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 65 db 39 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 9 db

      Apart from self resync just past midnight this is how thing have stayed.

      System Up Time: 20:50:13 - Mon 31/08/09 @ 16:45
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1530 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63 db 39 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 9 db

      At no time has My Sky shown any line testing and obviously no e-mail

      Any ideas anyone?

    6. #15
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream change

      hi yorkie someone has suggested i go on dlm and adsl 2 as i am currently on G.DMT would you recommend it or not?

    7. #16
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream change

      Quote Originally Posted by lynnwood1 View Post
      hi yorkie someone has suggested i go on dlm and adsl 2 as i am currently on G.DMT would you recommend it or not?
      Could you post your current stats. From the routers normal position and from the test socket if you have one, link below for details on test socket.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Downstream change

      hi yorkie someone has suggested i go on dlm and adsl 2 as i am currently on G.DMT would you recommend it or not?
      I am not sure why you are asking someone with problems for this advice. The OP has a very high attenuation, which means his line is probably not suitable for ADSL2+. You don't, so your case is completely different.

      @Andy
      This poster already has a thread open.-
      Can't wait to leave sky my speeds are getting slower and slower

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Yorkieair's Avatar
      Yorkieair is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Moortown
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Leeds - West Yorks
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Post Re: Downstream change

      Quote Originally Posted by lynnwood1 View Post
      hi yorkie someone has suggested i go on dlm and adsl 2 as i am currently on G.DMT would you recommend it or not?
      Lynnwood1, just to say Hi, while others have responded I can say - if you have followed the thread through for a longish line G.DMT was reasonable but now connection speeds do not look like recovering on ADSL2+.

      Further I had exactly the same situation over a year ago and after a load of hassle in foreign lands got thing sorted in a few seconds via Belfast.

      What is not clear is why Sky have stated messing around without warning, this assumes DML is attacking and there is not some other factor - this is what I would like to know.

    10. #19
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream change

      my stats as requested in test socket

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 19:57:44

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 859194 856153 0 0 0 19:56:45
      LAN 853856 858060 0 0 0 19:57:44
      WLAN 9386 5828 0 0 0 19:57:17
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4768 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 28.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 16.0 db

    11. #20
      Yorkieair's Avatar
      Yorkieair is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Moortown
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Leeds - West Yorks
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream change

      Lyynwood1 simultaneous posting in not really approved - suggest you revert to your original thread where you have already been given good advice.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION