Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Speed drop after resetting router

    This is a discussion on Speed drop after resetting router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; chances are it wasn't them hanging up on you - there have been issues with the phones just putting people ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after resetting router

      chances are it wasn't them hanging up on you - there have been issues with the phones just putting people on hold and we can't get the customers back...

      as for the cap - chances are it was an auto regrade from another call...have you called in before to report an issue? if so, and you didn't speak to CST, it would've been capped automatically as a blanket fix to solve the issue...happens all of the time and is something I don't agree with...

      still, at least you're sorted...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after resetting router

      Changing the wireless channel has nothing to do with sync speed, only the actual throughput. Channel 13 is sometimes a good bet, but you could try downloading Netstumbler, link below, and check up on the networks around you. Try and use a channel as far from those in use as possible.

      With a wired, or Homeplug connection you would get 7+Mbs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      mookid83's Avatar
      mookid83 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after resetting router

      Yes i spoke to CST a few hrs before my speed dropped and they confirmed i was getting 8mb. Hopefully the problem is fixed and i wont have to talk to first level support for a very long time!

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after resetting router

      what prob happened is that the ticket was left open for you to monitor and it was caught by the auto regrade...best not call in again!! lol!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after resetting router

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      chances are it wasn't them hanging up on you - there have been issues with the phones just putting people on hold and we can't get the customers back...
      You guys are getting hit by that too? Annoying as hell when we look at our lines and see 2 in use when there should only be one
      To the OP going through the steps is annoying on a repeated issue but if the ticket is closed it has to be done or the tier 1 agent will get into trouble with Sky management. Tier 1 is only doing it's job as mandated by Sky management.

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after resetting router

      no so much with us by i know tier 1 are having issues...it's happened a few times but we're usually ok...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION