Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

    This is a discussion on I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I connected to Sky BB about a week ago - on the MAX package. I am connected with a ...

    1. #1
      yeahdisk's Avatar
      yeahdisk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      Hi

      I connected to Sky BB about a week ago - on the MAX package.

      I am connected with a download speed of 7645 kbps (please see below).

      I thought that Sky MAX had a DL speed of 16mb? Or is this normal?

      Thanks in advance - great site!

      Chris.

      Connection Status Connected
      Us Rate (Kbps) 796
      Ds Rate (Kbps) 7645
      US Margin 10
      DS Margin 17
      Trained Modulation ADSL2Plus
      LOS Errors 0
      DS Line Attenuation 18
      US Line Attenuation 11
      Peak Cell Rate 1877 cells per sec
      CRC Rx Fast 0
      CRC Tx Fast 0
      CRC Rx Interleaved 1
      CRC Tx Interleaved 18
      Path Mode Fast Path


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      With those stats you should get the full whack. With a DS Margin of 17, it looks like Sky have heavily capped you.

      Are you within the first 10 days as DLM could be kicking in where it finds your best speed?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      The line is on DLM training, give it a few more days and it should increase.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      DLM runs for 10+ days to get a maximum stable line, give it another week or so.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      should be using the Sky router - at least until DLM has finished...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      yeahdisk's Avatar
      yeahdisk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      With those stats you should get the full whack. With a DS Margin of 17, it looks like Sky have heavily capped you.

      Are you within the first 10 days as DLM could be kicking in where it finds your best speed?
      Thanks for the replies

      Yeah its been 7 days since I joined.

      When you say 'with those stats' are you referring to my line attenuation?

      Also - regarding the advice to use my Sky router until DLM has finished - is there a particular reason for this? I want VPN access hence I'm using a different router. I can't see how it can make a difference?

    8. #7
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      To save opening another thread. Just got connected today on sky Max.
      I understand the DLM process 10+ (will not turn of router in this time)
      Having looked at my stats it seems I have been set on a SNRM of 15.6db great start to things eh. I have also noted that the line attenuation is 5 db higher than on my Net gear DG834GT. I am 1.7km from exchange.
      Will the SNR drop or is it likely to stay at 15db. With my previous isp Zen i was a reliable 6db SNRm sync at 8125db. However, we had a bad storm here and i suspect the DLM had dropped my bras profile down from 7500 to 4000 just before sky switch over.

      DSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db 15.8 db
      Noise Margin 15.6 db 22.5 db

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      Sky routers are capable of giving VPN access!

      As to the reason why you should use a Sky router, if you have problems with your initial set up, and many do, Sky will not give you support.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      Will the SNR drop or is it likely to stay at 15db.
      Short answer is yes, provided DLM does not find any problems with your line. Sky now start lines off at a low speed and gradually raise it until it gets to its highest stable speed. You should eventually achieve 12-13mbs when DLM is finished on your line. If you don't, and your noise margin remains high, Sky will suspend DLM and configure your line manually.

      Different routers read the attenuation in different ways which accounts for part of the difference you notice. ADSL2+ also raises the figure by about 3 dbs, which probably accounts for the rest.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      Thanks for clearing that up isitme. I just wasn't sure how the process works under LLU with sky. My line is usually very stable at 6db Just that the almighty thunderstorm cause several router resets before migrating to sky.

      Thanks

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION