Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

    This is a discussion on I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme Sky routers are capable of giving VPN access! Then perhaps you wouldn't mind sharing your solution ...

    1. #11
      yeahdisk's Avatar
      yeahdisk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sky routers are capable of giving VPN access!
      Then perhaps you wouldn't mind sharing your solution here?

      No seems to be able to get it work with Nortel Contivity, and the regedit solution given in this thread for other Nortel VPN Clients will not work.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      I do not have a solution other than the one given in this thread. Is it is possible your client needs an update to a later version?
      Unfortunately as Sky broadband is not for business use, they will give no support for VPN. I know that some time ago a user was promised a Netgear, which does support VPN without 'hacks', to replace a Sagem which didn't. I don't know what the eventual outcome was.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      They have stopped replacing routers for VPN issues now as far as I know.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      ^^^^^^^^^^^
      That's a pity.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      yeahdisk's Avatar
      yeahdisk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      Been a few more days on DLM and the DS Margin is still at 17.

      I wonder how long it will be before they up my speed - will I need to re start my router or something?

      Latest stats:

      Connection Status Connected
      Us Rate (Kbps) 796
      Ds Rate (Kbps) 7645
      US Margin 10
      DS Margin 17
      Trained Modulation ADSL2Plus
      LOS Errors 0
      DS Line Attenuation 18
      US Line Attenuation 11
      Peak Cell Rate 1877 cells per sec
      CRC Rx Fast 0
      CRC Tx Fast 0
      CRC Rx Interleaved 20
      CRC Tx Interleaved 42
      Path Mode Fast Path

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      Quote Originally Posted by yeahdisk View Post
      will I need to re start my router or something?
      No but you should use the Sky router at least during DLM, Sky can tell if your not.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      Normally I would say don't restart your router, as it may be seen as a line fault by the Line Management and cause it to further reduce your speed. However as you have been connected for almost 10 days and your speed has not moved in the last 3, it looks like your line may have been left capped.

      Have a look at your details in the Broadband section of your MySky page. If it reports there that training has finished on your line, try rebooting your router. If the speed remains the same, you are probably capped and will have to phone Sky to have it removed. If it says training is still ongoing, give it a couple of days and check back.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      yeahdisk's Avatar
      yeahdisk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      Well I switched back to my sky router and my stats look like:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8185 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 db 10.0 db
      Noise Margin 15.9 db 15.5 db

      Still not nearly as good as performance I have had previously (and I live across the road from my exchange - literally 100 yards away).

      Any ideas who I should email within Sky to get it sorted, or do I have to face the call centres!?

    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      calling is the better option as it's done there and then...emailing using the KANA form might result in an auto-regrade, lowering speed further...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've got BB Max but have a low connection speed (router stats inc.)

      As the speed has changed, this could indicate DLM is still working on your line, but as IANTE says, phone don't bother with the KANA form as this can take days and may lead to more problems. Tell them you think DLM has left your line in a poor state and you would like to be put through to CST to have it manually configured.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION