Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Can i use any router thats ADSL please help me guys

    This is a discussion on Can i use any router thats ADSL please help me guys within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi,im thinking of buying a new router as my sky router is breaking down..but im not 100% sure if any ...

    1. #1
      SB-SeCrEt's Avatar
      SB-SeCrEt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can i use any router thats ADSL please help me guys

      hi,im thinking of buying a new router as my sky router is breaking down..but im not 100% sure if any router will work? could someone please help me thank you!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can i use any router thats ADSL please help me guys

      You will need your username and password.

      Getting your V1 and V2 router passwords - the safe way

      And also some other information:

      Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

      Its against the T and C's that you agreed to as long as you are aware.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can i use any router thats ADSL please help me guys

      Threads merged, please only open one thread per subject, so as members can have all the information in one place.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Can i use any router thats ADSL please help me guys

      Quote Originally Posted by SB-SeCrEt View Post
      hi,im thinking of buying a new router as my sky router is breaking down..
      If you ring Sky they will send you a nice shiney new one ( or maybe a refurbed one ). As NR has said its against there T&C's to use non Sky routers so they have to give you a replacement for them to meet their side of the conditions. As also stated you can, if you wish, use your own - at your risk.


    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Can i use any router thats ADSL please help me guys

      Call Sky and if your router is broken they will replace, if you are just replacing it for the sake of replacing it don't bother lol

    7. #6
      andyb7274's Avatar
      andyb7274 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can i use any router thats ADSL please help me guys

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Call Sky and if your router is broken they will replace, if you are just replacing it for the sake of replacing it don't bother lol
      Yep can confirm this, as I've had to have my Sagem replaced when it started rebooting on it's own whether it was being used or not, downgrading the formware to let it reupdate itself didn't work long term (worked flawless for a week), but after jumping through their self diagnostic hoops then calling the BB tech line they were very helpful. I also told them matter of factly that I was going to use a third party router until the replacement arrived, and the kind person said I won't mention that

      There were no questions of how was I able to use a non sky router. Be nice to them and they'll be nice back.

    8. #7
      trjp's Avatar
      trjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can i use any router thats ADSL please help me guys

      Sky offered me a free new router when we had line probs last year but I declined as I was 101% sure it wasn't the router - so just ring them and ask nicely

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION