Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky Broadband max & BT Line

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband max & BT Line within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello there, I have a little inquiry about sky broadband & bt line. At present we have Virgin Media 10mb ...

    1. #1
      Mattey's Avatar
      Mattey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oakengates
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband max & BT Line

      Hello there,

      I have a little inquiry about sky broadband & bt line.

      At present we have Virgin Media 10mb Broadband & telephone through them. We have Sky TV also. But our house has never had a BT line installed.

      I rang up both Sky & BT earlier today & i was quoted this:

      12.50 line rental a month to BT for 18months
      10 for Sky broadband Max
      5 for Sky Talk
      Free install of the BT line cause i'm a virgin media customer.

      Now i've posted on another forum i frequent & basically they have told me there is no point to having the Sky Talk cause BT will force me to make 10 chargable calls a month for 18 months to not pay the connection fee, If I don't do these 10 chargeable calls a month then i'll be charged the full amount for the install. BT didn't quote this when i was on the phone to them.

      I even said i only wanted the line from them & everything else will be going through Sky: Phone, Broadband & TV.

      Is it true what they have said on the other forum? I'm totally confused by it all & if i can't have everything through Sky except the line then i may as well stay as a virgin media customer, Even though i hate Virgin Media & the rubbish they have put us through in the last year.

      If anyone can shed some light on this it would be much appreciated.

      Thanks!

      Also sorry if this is in the wrong section I wasn't sure where to post it. Oh yes also as well to add, My exchange is in oakengates & i'm in st georges. Both in the Telford area, Any ideas on what speeds i should possibly get from it? I'm 1041m away from the exchange (according to sam knows anyway).
      Last edited by Mattey; 14-05-09 at 10:08 PM. Reason: added more info


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband max & BT Line

      I don't believe so as this would be a Sky new line provide. If you went to BT *Retail* yourself and ordered a new line then yes, the 10 call thing would be correct, but as Sky are ordering the new line from BT, no.

    4. #3
      Mattey's Avatar
      Mattey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oakengates
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband max & BT Line

      Quote Originally Posted by MrStabby View Post
      I don't believe so as this would be a Sky new line provide. If you went to BT *Retail* yourself and ordered a new line then yes, the 10 call thing would be correct, but as Sky are ordering the new line from BT, no.
      Well when i rang Sky earlier today they said I have to order the new line through BT as they don't do it, How would I go about getting the line through Sky then?

      Just to point out I have been a Sky TV customer for 8 years+ but never had a BT line installed.

      Thank you for your reply

    5. #4
      Mattey's Avatar
      Mattey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oakengates
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband max & BT Line

      Anyone?

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband max & BT Line

      I was told by one person that if you're getting a BT line Sky can get it installed so that you then pay line rental to Sky from the off - otherwise you have to pay BT line rental and calls to Sky (which isn't the end of the world)...

      I have no idea who the guy was though, and I'd be hard pushed to find him again as it was a nightmare in the first place...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband max & BT Line

      IANTE that is my understanding of how it works . So maybe the original poster should phone again.

    8. #7
      NATO's Avatar
      NATO is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband max & BT Line

      When I connected to Sky at the end of March, I got the TV, Phone line and Broadband installed for free as I was taking Line rental + Sky Talk. I haven't had any dealings with BT at all apart from the BT Openreach guy coming to install the line.

    9. #8
      Mattey's Avatar
      Mattey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oakengates
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband max & BT Line

      Quote Originally Posted by NATO View Post
      When I connected to Sky at the end of March, I got the TV, Phone line and Broadband installed for free as I was taking Line rental + Sky Talk. I haven't had any dealings with BT at all apart from the BT Openreach guy coming to install the line.
      Thanks for all the replies so far, Well when I made the first call to Sky last week, they said they don't deal with line rental e.t.c & that I have to go direct through BT.

      As I say we've already got Sky TV installed at the house but there is no BT line connected to the house at all.

      I'll try giving them a ring again tomorrow & see what they say I'll report back.

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband max & BT Line

      Some of the sales people are just ridiculous. Sky do Sky talk and Sky talk (with line rental), how on earth do they sell this if some of their own staff seem oblivious?

    11. #10
      Mattey's Avatar
      Mattey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oakengates
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband max & BT Line

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Some of the sales people are just ridiculous. Sky do Sky talk and Sky talk (with line rental), how on earth do they sell this if some of their own staff seem oblivious?
      Exactly being told all kinds of things here & I don't know what to believe, I don't want to do a switch & it ending up costing more than it does at the moment with virgin media.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION