Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Linking my sky router, to another router

    This is a discussion on Linking my sky router, to another router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi i want to link my sky router, to my other belkin router. My sky one doubles up as a ...

    1. #1
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Linking my sky router, to another router

      Hi

      i want to link my sky router, to my other belkin router.

      My sky one doubles up as a modem and router, and my belkin is only a router

      basically i want to use my sky router as the modem, and use my belkin router as the main internet connection source

      can anyone help do this or direct me?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Linking my sky router, to another router

      Your Sky router/modems has integral broadband connection. You can use the other as a network switch to give you extra LAN connections (just connect a LAN cable from one to the other) but it will be a slave unit with no influence on the broadband and unless you need additional LAN connections it will have no advantages. Connection any LAN on either unit to any LAN on the other unit which of course cuts down on the total number of LAN sockets available for connection to devices.

    4. #3
      stairforce's Avatar
      stairforce is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01789
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Shakespeare country
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Linking my sky router, to another router

      Quote Originally Posted by elim View Post
      Hi

      i want to link my sky router, to my other belkin router.

      My sky one doubles up as a modem and router, and my belkin is only a router

      basically i want to use my sky router as the modem, and use my belkin router as the main internet connection source

      can anyone help do this or direct me?
      Elim, I have done exactly what you propose, with (as it happens) a Belkin router.
      And before that, when we were with Orange, I had the same arrangement with a Livebox. The wireless on the Livebox is poor compared to the Belkin, so I just used it as a modem and let the Belkin do the wireless bit.

      First off, log onto the Belkin box, and disable DHCP (that is, stop it allocating IP addresses to the PC(s) in your home when they are started up - your Sky router will allocate them anyway and we don't want the 2 boxes squabbling). Next, join the 2 boxes together with a ethernet (RJ45) network cable. You need to set the Belkin router to have an IP address which is in the range covered by the Sky router, but outside the DHCP range. My Sky router has a local IP address of 192.168.0.1 and I dare say most others do too ('cos that's how they come out of the box. I set the Belkin router to have IP address 192.168.0.8 and the DHCP start and end addresses (set on the Sky router) to be 192.168.0.9 to 192.168.0.200. I find it does not work straight away, but just check you can ping both routers (just type ping <IP address> in a Command Prompt window) and if you can, it should work. Once it is working, it will keep working - I have had this arrangement for years.

      The biggest advantage is that you can keep the wireless set-up you have at home the same when you change Internet Service Providers (ISPs).

      Hope this helps.

    5. #4
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Linking my sky router, to another router

      i want to use it as the the main connection source, the person above you hav described the access point method which i dont want

      heres diagram of what i want


      Last edited by elim; 13-05-09 at 06:28 PM.

    6. #5
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Linking my sky router, to another router

      well ive flashed my dg834gt to the dg team firmware, put it in modem mode, then on my belkin settings page it doesnt have pppoa only pppoe?

      but i need pppoa i think coz thats what sky uses any help

    7. #6
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Linking my sky router, to another router

      If you're going to have your PC connected by ethernet, I'm struggling to see what real benefit this setup gives you.

    8. #7
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Linking my sky router, to another router

      i know im doing it for something, not for internet benefit, just something to do with gamin lets say :P

      please someone help ive been fiddling around with routers and stuff for agess trying to do this, i know it can be done

    9. #8
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Linking my sky router, to another router

      Um if you are wanting to use the Belkan as the internet connection, as in have your computer connected to it wirelessly constantly or by Ethernet, then you do have it setup properly.

      I don't know what else you could do... Unless you explain specifically what you want to have it setup like that for then we won't be able to supply you with the information.

      If you are talking about piggy-backing the connection, then you are already doing this.

      If anything looks like your trying to bridge the connection. You going to be connecting other computers to the routers? Or try and run your own game server?

    10. #9
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Linking my sky router, to another router

      all i want to do is bridge the connection

      phone line --> modem --> router --> computers

    11. #10
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Linking my sky router, to another router

      The Sky box is a modem and router built into one. You can connect loads of computers to it without using another router.

      Save a tree, unplug the Belkin.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION