Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31

    How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

    This is a discussion on How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; And for other people wondering how they can tell if they're on LLU , the first hop on a traceroute ...

    1. #21
      mailliw's Avatar
      mailliw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRPGRN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U w/Tomato 1.28
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

      And for other people wondering how they can tell if they're on LLU, the first hop on a traceroute changes too. Mine's now dr0.bllon.isp.sky.com


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      mailliw's Avatar
      mailliw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRPGRN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U w/Tomato 1.28
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

      Thanks Sky. Outstanding service. Phoned them to upgrade to Max, and the girl said it could take 5 days. It was activated while I was on the phone:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8189 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 16 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 13 db

      Only 8189 kbps, not 12 as I'd hoped, but...that's still more than enough bandwidth.

      Ta for everyone's help

    4. #23
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

      Quote Originally Posted by mailliw View Post
      Only 8189 kbps, not 12 as I'd hoped, but...that's still more than enough bandwidth.
      If you are on DLM this will increase over the next 10 days or so, if your line can handle it. Normally new connections are, so keep your eye out on your stats.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

      Only 8189 kbps, not 12 as I'd hoped, but...that's still more than enough bandwidth.
      You have quite a healthy noise margin so you should get your 12, maybe evn 13 or 14Mb. Remember to keep your router switched on and plugged in for the first 10 days.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      mailliw's Avatar
      mailliw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRPGRN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U w/Tomato 1.28
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

      Thanks. Encouraging. What I cannot work out is why my noise margin has suddenly leapt now I'm on LLU. As you can see from my first stats post on Connect, it was 8db, and often dipped as low as 3. It's now 15db on LLU! Very strange indeed, but very good.

      One thing which confuses me about DRM is whether the line speed will increase automatically. You're meant not to reboot your router...and it was my understanding that the line speed wouldn't increase unless you reboot. No matter either way, will leave it on and wait, but...always confused me.

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

      DLM will reboot your router, at least once a day.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      mailliw's Avatar
      mailliw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRPGRN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U w/Tomato 1.28
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

      Ah! That answers that then

    9. #28
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

      You're connected to an ISAM in the exchange rather than a DSLAM. You'll have to call Sky and have your speed put up manually.
      I can tell in two ways:
      1. Your first traceroute hop.
      2. Your speed went to 8Mb when your changed product today rather than to 4Mb (new start speeds).

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

      So DLM will not be put on the line? If it is not on now, surely a move to LLU will be classed as a new connection and DLM will kick in in the first 2 or 3 days?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      mailliw's Avatar
      mailliw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRPGRN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U w/Tomato 1.28
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I tell I'm on LLU or Max?

      Thanks MrStabby. 12mb all sorted and I have no idea what ISAMs are, but shall google them now.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION