Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

    This is a discussion on Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, i am on sky max, meant to be 16mb, but have never got more then 7.5mb, since yesterday ...

    1. #1
      jbarker73's Avatar
      jbarker73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

      Hi Guys, i am on sky max, meant to be 16mb, but have never got more then 7.5mb, since yesterday my speed has dropped to 4mb!!

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2864 3488 0 0 0 0:10:18
      LAN 8901 6954 0 0 0 0:11:08
      WLAN 195 163 0 0 0 0:10:40
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4090 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.5 db 23.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 12.5 db

      these are the stats my router is showing.
      any help with this would be greatly appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

      reboot your router as the SNR is at default so you've got a noise issue somewhere...also try your test socket if you've got one...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      jbarker73's Avatar
      jbarker73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

      thanks, will try that again, not got a test socket to use.
      with the info posted would you say i could get close to 16mb down?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

      nowhere near...8-9Mbp tops...

      my attenuation is 46 and I get 6Mbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      jbarker73's Avatar
      jbarker73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

      thanks again, just rebooted the router and its still showing the same stats

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

      If you have a test socket put it in there with a new filter and get a new set of stats.

    8. #7
      jbarker73's Avatar
      jbarker73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

      dont have a master socket, tried a new filter and got these stats

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7 8 0 0 0 0:06:20
      LAN 459 333 0 0 0 0:07:10
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:06:43
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4090 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 23.3 db
      Noise Margin 8.5 db 12.5 db

      the noise margin has got a lot worse!!!

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

      No, it's better. High = good Low = Bad.

      Unplug everything your have plugged into extensions sockets and if you haven't done so, remove the ring wire from Terminal 3 in the master socket. Then try your stats. You appear to be capped so your speed will not rise immediately, but your noise margin may.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      jbarker73's Avatar
      jbarker73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

      thanks mate, im a bit surprised that sky are capping me seeing as im on the max package!!!
      also not sure which one is my master socket, lol

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX is now only giving me 4mb down!!!

      You are not being capped, you line is not good enough to get a better speed.

      If you move closer to the telephone exchange your speed will go up but some consider that a drastic measure

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION