Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Is This Right?

    This is a discussion on Is This Right? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; By doing what you said I had connection to my router at all, and then I changed the leads a ...

    1. #11
      Luke_L's Avatar
      Luke_L is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is This Right?

      By doing what you said I had connection to my router at all, and then I changed the leads a bit and got a connection, but it's still 511kb/s DOWN and 412 UP


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is This Right?

      I should have the Filter(Modem/phone) connected to the wall socket, and then I should have the 2 way splitter into that?,
      Yes.

      If you have phones on other sockets these must also be filtered. If you have a Sky box this must also run through a filter. Basically in every case the filter must be the first thing plugged into the phone socket.

      Routers are designed to run 24/7 and switching them off and on every day could actually do much more damage, due to the continual heating up and cooling of components.

      Sorry post delayed due to nagging wife.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is This Right?

      By doing what you said I had connection to my router at all
      I take it you meant you had no connection. I do not understand why that should be.

      Being on Base with a very high noise margin it probably does not matter where you plug in if you were on G.DMT. Your line has been moved to ADSL2+ and it is having difficulty in maintaining the connection probably due to your internal wiring. This is why your speed has dropped. You will have to phone Sky and get them to manually configure your line. If you get through to CST they will do this in minutes and put you back where you were. Your line is easily capable of 5-6 Mb.

      If you want to fix it properly, get a filtered faceplate, this will allow you to dispense with all the filters, any of which could be faulty.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Luke_L's Avatar
      Luke_L is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is This Right?

      Hmm well I was thinking about upgrading to 16MB internet but if I can't get around 10-12MB with my line then I may as well go with the 8MB because the bandwidth isn't enough anyway. As far as my problems are concerned i'm going to ring them tomorrow and will demand them to sort it out. Thanks for all your help.

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Is This Right?

      I wouldn't demand anything, it looks like the fault may be at your end, demanding will only get their backs up and that won't help.

      Treat others as you would like to be treated, you stand a much better chance of a good outcome.

    7. #16
      Luke_L's Avatar
      Luke_L is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is This Right?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      I wouldn't demand anything, it looks like the fault may be at your end, demanding will only get their backs up and that won't help.

      Treat others as you would like to be treated, you stand a much better chance of a good outcome.
      They broke my phone line when I first moved here, It was activated, it was then de-activated then re-actived, that took 24 days to finally complete!, They then charged me extra on my bill for something I hadn't even payed for!
      And then they broke my line once AGAIN by cross-lining, if they treat me with respect I would treat them with respect back, I had no problems with Virgin but I had to go to Sky, and all i've had with them is hassle.

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Is This Right?

      As Sky don't do the work on the phone lines it was BT who did it. I realise the buck stops with Sky but they only passed the work out.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is This Right?

      i'm going to ring them tomorrow
      Support is open 24/7, but you are better phoning after 10.30 pm when the help lines are a bit quieter. For the best result you should plug into the test socket through a filter, this will rule out any problems with your internal wiring. You will not see any improvement in the speed using the test socket, but your noise margin will rise, your speed will only rise when the cap is removed.

      As you say, you will be wasting your money with an 'up to' 16Mb package, unless you have need for an unlimited download or higher upload speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is This Right?

      Quote Originally Posted by Luke_L View Post
      Sorry I didn't notice, That's my fathers account, I thought it was logged into this one, anyways.. Is it totally necessary to leave it on 24/7 because I've never had to do that before, and when your talking about the splitters are you trying to say that
      I should have the Filter(Modem/phone) connected to the wall socket, and then I should have the 2 way splitter into that?, Because I have a phone upstairs, and downstairs, and I have another filter upstairs so I can plug it into that, Could this be the fault?
      Are you using 2 Filters on that 1 socket? or is the 2nd filter connected to another phone socket?

      sounds like you have double filtered to me.

    11. #20
      Luke_L's Avatar
      Luke_L is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is This Right?

      I have a Splitter into the wall socket, with a lead going into that, and a filter going into that, i then have another filter plugged into that filter and I also have a cable plugged into that, it has always been set up this way and have never had problems until now, the engineer who came out before said it was a mess but it SHOULD work properly, and it did until now... and today my internet speed has cut down AGAIN!
      DownStream Connection Speed 384 kbps
      EDIT:: Now that I tried it a different way, without double filtering, there's absolutely NO difference?, I'll give them a ring in about an hour and i'll see what they say, I'll post it here then.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION