Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Moving ISP?

    This is a discussion on Moving ISP? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; In the daytime i get 3Mbps constant speed but from 5pm till midnight for the last few weeks i barely ...

    1. #1
      Torazz's Avatar
      Torazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moving ISP?

      In the daytime i get 3Mbps constant speed but from 5pm till midnight for the last few weeks i barely get 0.25Mbps which stops me from watching anything like Youtube or even playing games as i constantly get d/c from the server.
      I have contacted CST and to be honest they were very helpful and told me they would try to sort out my slow speed, 1 hour later they rang me back and told me that sky had told them that everyone on my exchange was slowed down to these speeds and that they could do nothing to help me, she even apologized.
      I am going to cancel my contract for sky connect and move to another isp, but my question is:
      Do i have to cancel my sky talk phone package as well or can i just cancel my connect service and still pay line rental to sky?
      Thks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving ISP?

      you can still get your skytalk + sky line rental and move over to another ISP, just contact sky and ask for a mac code for your broadband. i think you are probably making the right decision changing your ISP Torazz, the connect package isnt worth it.. hopefully sky will unbundle your exchange eventually, who you thinking of switching to when you cancel sky?

    4. #3
      Torazz's Avatar
      Torazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving ISP?

      thks for replying
      i am thinking of moving to Plusnet Unlimited

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving ISP?

      You will still be throttled at peak times, no matter who you go to, unless they are an LLU provider. Plusnet also throttle, but are up front about it and do it properly, unlike Sky who throttle everything.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Torazz's Avatar
      Torazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving ISP?

      i've looked into it and i'll be throttled between 12 noon and 12 midnight but i am guaranteed a 2mb clear gaming connection which is all that matters in the evenings. (They look after their gamers it seems )
      Any downloading will be done overnight as i have a usenet account also.

    7. #6
      Torazz's Avatar
      Torazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving ISP?

      only 2 LLU's in my exchange are Orange and TalkTalk......was with TalkTalk b4 and kept getting disconnected and i've heard Orange are poor also. Plusnet just won an award as 2nd best IP after O2 in the UK and as plusnet support gamers that works for me.

    8. #7
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Moving ISP?

      Torazz
      Hi Connect package is no good for gamers. Sky cannot and will not guarantee a 2mb for gamers because of the traffic management so as soon as it seems you are using more than allowed Bt RAMBo will slow you down. sorry for the bad news

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moving ISP?

      RAMBo has nothing to do with Sky's traffic shaping...RAMBo is used to keep an eye on sync rate and match it to IP Profile...

      Ellacoya is used for the traffic management...

      Read this...

      http://www.thinkbroadband.com/files/...nd-legends.pdf
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Moving ISP?

      Thanks for the info IANTE and sorry to the op Had a browse very interesting is there an update from 06/09/2006 and what is Ellacoya

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moving ISP?

      no idea if this is the one in use, but it's DPI...

      DDoS Protection | Deep Packet Inspection | IP Flow Analysis | Arbor Networks
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION