Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    stats & slow speed

    This is a discussion on stats & slow speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; should i be able to get any faster than this below any advice is greatfully received. ADSL Link Downstream Upstream ...

    1. #1
      houdini2005's Avatar
      houdini2005 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      stats & slow speed

      should i be able to get any faster than this below any advice is greatfully received.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2046 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 33.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.7 db 16.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stats & slow speed

      Are those stats from the test socket, and it looks like your line could be going through DLM but i am not sure, i am not sure what upstream speed point to DLM, but stats from the test socket is a good start if you have one.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: stats & slow speed

      I don't think it is DLM, just ADSL2+, Test socket stats would be helpful, link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stats & slow speed

      Looks like ADSL2+, Not to much more from that. As Isitme Says Test socket for the stats. See linky Below.

    6. #5
      houdini2005's Avatar
      houdini2005 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stats & slow speed

      new stats from test socket i'm also using firmware V1.03.87 (CU3.04) and used the get stats from that, sorry about the length of the list
      cheers

      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 412 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2043 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.5 14.0
      Attn(dB): 54.0 32.9
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.6
      Max(Kbps): 4256 516
      Rate (Kbps): 2043 412
      G.dmt framing
      K: 5(0) 13
      R: 4 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 96 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 99 70
      B: 4 12
      M: 1 8
      T: 8 1
      R: 4 16
      S: 0.0763 7.4418
      L: 943 129
      D: 352 4
      Counters
      SF: 40597 38294
      SFErr: 4 1
      RS: 34102022 349589
      RSCorr: 131 0
      RSUnCorr: 52 0

      HEC: 3 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3134826 632768
      Data Cells: 85187 13946
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 12 222
      AS: 651

      INP: 5.97 1.98
      PER: 16.03 17.67
      delay: 6.71 7.44
      OR: 52.38 34.40

      Bitswap: 5 20

      Total time = 11 min 13 sec
      SF = 40597
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 1 day time = 11 min 13 sec
      SF = 40597
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 13 sec
      SF = 40597
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: stats & slow speed

      Strange, Sky are not supposed to use ADSL2 according to some agents. Either way your test socket stats show your internal wiring is suspect. Fitting a filtered faceplate and plugging the router into it would cure this.

      How long have you been connected? It also looks like you may be capped, either manually or by the automatic process. Phone Sky and ask them to trouble shoot your line, ask if you can try G.DMT if you get through to the CST. Be plugged into the test socket when you do this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      houdini2005's Avatar
      houdini2005 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stats & slow speed

      contacted sky a very nice lady upped my speed to 5 kbps & qoute "we seem to have broken your internet". it took them an hour to get it back, oh well speeds back to 2045 kbps
      thanks everybody.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: stats & slow speed

      You stats look like they will support 3-4Mb, I wonder why she tried to get 5 out of it? It seems a bit ambitious. I would phone back and try to get someone to give you at least 3Mb. Would you like to post your stats again to see if the mode has been changed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stats & slow speed

      On the DSLAMs at least, if you configure to ADSL2+ and the line syncs below 8 or 9Mb then they will prefer ADSL2.
      Probably unnoticed by most CST agents as you need telnet access to see the actual line code in use.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: stats & slow speed

      So although Sky are not supposed to use ADSL2, it can be set to it, probably unknown by the agent. That explains why it appears now and again in detailed stats. I would have thought CST would have access to something similar to the detail stats, available from the DG834GT, which would show exactly what is going on.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION