Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31

    Speeds Suddenly dropped?

    This is a discussion on Speeds Suddenly dropped? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My sockets in my house are fairly old and I don't have a test socket currently. I left the router ...

    1. #21
      Mousti's Avatar
      Mousti is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Killinchy
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds Suddenly dropped?

      My sockets in my house are fairly old and I don't have a test socket currently.

      I left the router in the main socket overnight and the speed has gone back to what it normally did. I quickly changed it back to the extension cable and 3 hours later it's still at the same speed.

      Not perfect, but it's better than having everything constantly dropping on wireless.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Speeds Suddenly dropped?

      Old sockets and wiring is a bit of a mare when you want ADSL, depending on your competency with a screwdriver you may find it beneficial to "update" your equipment.

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speeds Suddenly dropped?

      As I said earlier, you should be getting the full 8Mb, but if you are happy, that is the important thing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Speeds Suddenly dropped?

      Mousti
      HI anyone with an upload of 448kbps is on connect A bt rebranded product and between 5pm and midnight connect Customers are being traffic managed. Isitme as Tom says you could get near 8mbs but You should leave it for the 72hrs otherwise with the problems you already have they will get worse and the guarantee is the speeds will drop as low again if not even lower I hope you get the problems sorted
      I tried the quiet line test and admittedly there were some noise and a hum in the background

      MrStabby
      connect package is different from LLU. The Dynamic Line Management DLM is ran by Sky the Bt Rate Adaptive Management Box RAMBo for short is ran by Sky and Bt and when Sky connect package is being traffic managed some times throttling connect Customers

    6. #25
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speeds Suddenly dropped?

      if only you knew who MyStabby was, Steve...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #26
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speeds Suddenly dropped?

      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speeds Suddenly dropped?

      if only you knew who MyStabby was, Steve...
      He is not breathing down your neck is he?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Speeds Suddenly dropped?

      The thing is if it helps the OP thats whats important you never know I might know him and he might already know me

    10. #29
      Mousti's Avatar
      Mousti is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Killinchy
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds Suddenly dropped?

      Well, since moving the router back to the extension cable, the profile evidently reset and I've been set back to dial-speed.

      I've moved it back to the mains and it's not increasing in speed as it did last night, but I'm certainly not going to move it. I'll be using wireless connections to the router but obviously this will effect the speed (but hopefully not as much as I am experiencing currently).

      Will a wireless repeater help to reduce the loss of speed?

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speeds Suddenly dropped?

      Will a wireless repeater help to reduce the loss of speed?
      No it is more likely to make it worse. If you want reasonably fast stable broadband you will have to sort out your wiring. You would be well advised to get an NTE5a socket fitted for your master, fit a filtered faceplate and sit the router beside it or use a long RJ11 Cable to place it more conveniently. You will have a good chance then of getting near 8Mb stable.

      The way the BT system works is if the system detects line problems it will drop the Profile to stabilise it, that is what is happening to you. You may have to wait 3 days for your speed to come back up. There is nothing Sky or BT can do about this, it is down to your own wiring set up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION