Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Should I be getting any better speeds?

    This is a discussion on Should I be getting any better speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You will eventually be moved to ADSL2+ which should give you a bit more, if it likes your line....

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting any better speeds?

      You will eventually be moved to ADSL2+ which should give you a bit more, if it likes your line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      tinyian's Avatar
      tinyian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVAIN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting any better speeds?

      Email I got from Sky today:

      Dear Mr Miller,


      Thank you for your reply.

      After checking your connection I would like to inform you that your downstream speed is 8096Kbps (8Mb) which is 3Mb more than we estimate your telephone line can support. If you are an online gamer it will be better for you to have a more stable connection, this can be arranged by reducing your downstream speed by 2Mb. I have also arranged for your Max Delay Levels to reduced to 8.

      If you would like us to try and stabilise your connection by reducing your downstream speed please let us know by replying to this email.


      Needless to say I won't be replying to the email to get a reduced speed!!!!

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting any better speeds?

      Anyone looking at your stats knows that that email is complete rubbish. Their "estimate", which I would point out is completely unnecessary as the line is connected, is based on outdated figures. Your existing figures show that your line is capable of speeds of more than 8Mb, not the 5Mb they "estimate". Like many more you are being fobbed off by someone who does not know what they are doing or is just too lazy to do it properly.
      Last edited by Isitme; 01-05-09 at 10:31 PM. Reason: grammer!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      tinyian's Avatar
      tinyian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVAIN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting any better speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Anyone looking at your stats knows that that email is complete rubbish. Their "estimate", which I would point out is completely unnecessary as the line is connected, is based on outdated figures. Your existing figures show that your line is capable of speeds of more than 8Mb, not the 5Mb they "estimate". Like many more you are being fobbed off by someone who does not know what they are doing or are just too lazy to do it properly.
      I thought as much! Thanks for the confirmation!!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION