Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

    This is a discussion on Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Basically just need to know if it is possible to have my wireless netgear router installed on both my ...

    1. #1
      mikewillow's Avatar
      mikewillow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

      Hi
      Basically just need to know if it is possible to have my wireless netgear router installed on both my desktop computer upstairs and also have it installed on my laptop downstairs as well which is near my playstaion 3 so will hopefully cut out aload of lag i get when playing online. If so is it easy to do or not and is there anything i need to know how to do with the settings or amything on the router for it to be installed on 2 comps.
      I posted similar thread earlier and it seemed to vear of my original question with people telling me i need my house rewiring or for me to buy homeplugs. I know my wireless signal from desktop upstairs to my ps3 downstairs is shockingly bad but surely there is a way to just have router installed on laptop which is right next to my playstation as well as well as my desktop which i hardly ever use,rather than forking out cash on other bits to enhance the comnection from upstairs.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

      In truth, you do not "install" a router on any PC. If you are asking whether you can fit an ADSL modem router downstairs and another one upstairs on the same telephone line, the answer is NO.

      If wireless reception is very poor, the alternatives are to run Cat5 ethernet cable between upstairs and downstairs or to use ethernet over the mains (homeplug). Both will give good speeds, with homeplug being easier to install and less obtrusive.

      Regards,

      Felix

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

      Yes, you can connect lots of things at the same time and via wireless if you need to.

      The problem comes with the PS3 as gaming requires a good connection, wireless is not good enough for this and I would recommend a wired connection directly to the router either via an ethernet lead or homeplugs.

      In your situation I would:-

      Fit the router to the master socket by the PS3, use a ethernet lead to connect the PS3 directly to the router.

      Fit a homeplug to the router to allow you to connect the upstairs PC via another homeplug with a wireless extender built in, this will allow you to have a wired connection on the PC to the router (without the wire) and also extend the wireless signal upstairs to allow for better reception on the laptop.

    5. #4
      mikewillow's Avatar
      mikewillow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

      Quote Originally Posted by FelixTCat View Post
      In truth, you do not "install" a router on any PC. If you are asking whether you can fit an ADSL modem router downstairs and another one upstairs on the same telephone line, the answer is NO.


      Felix
      Hi felix
      I dont want to have 2 different routers i want to just take the one i have on my desktop upstairs and run it from my laptop downstairs instead because laptop is right next to my ps3. But i also want to still be able to reconnect it back upstairs when not gaming.
      Hope this makes sense.

    6. #5
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

      As long as you have a phone point and filter, you can put your router where you like.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

      Mike

      You can move the router to wherever you like in the house. As long as there is only one in play at any one time, it really doesn't matter.

      I would consider however the other options that have been suggested to sort your issues out.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      mikewillow's Avatar
      mikewillow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

      Thanks
      So just to clarify i can plug my router straight into ps3 via ethernet cable and it will work ok even though it is set up to run from my desktop

    9. #8
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

      The computer doesn't matter! Only the internet connection to the router.

    10. #9
      mikewillow's Avatar
      mikewillow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

      Quote Originally Posted by Woodster View Post
      The computer doesn't matter! Only the internet connection to the router.
      So when i have finished gaming through a direct connection from router to ps3 i can then take it and plug it back into desktop and it will work again straight away.
      Sorry to come across as stupid but i probably am stupid. lol.

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can i install router on laptop as well as desktop.

      Yes.

      The router is just a gateway to the internet.

      When using the PS3 plug the PS3 into the router, when using the PC you can move the router next to the PC and then plug the PC into it.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION