Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 38

    Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

    This is a discussion on Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme They have put ADSL2+ on lines just as bad as yours. If your line was returning ...

    1. #21
      Squirelly666's Avatar
      Squirelly666 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leyland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      They have put ADSL2+ on lines just as bad as yours.

      If your line was returning 32 errors a second I don't think it would work at all. I think you may have been unlucky enough to get one of the poorer CST or one that could not care less, that is if you even got to CST. If he passed you back to Tier 1 without a resolution, that is a bad sign. Are you sure you were not speaking to Tier 1 and they have passed it to CST?
      I think I'm getting my tier terminology wrong. He has passed me on to the escalation department to get extra line checks done, before they request an engineer visit.

      I thought that was Tier 1 (1 being best) but I guess Tier 1 means first line as in the idiots who ask you to switch filters etc. a million times before they'll put you through to CST. My mistake.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

      Quote Originally Posted by Squirelly666 View Post
      The ticket has been pushed back up to the Tier 1 guys (I think) to do some more investigating, and hopefully decide an engineer visit is necessary. If they don't I'm not sure what to do, I feel like I'm going round in circles.
      That would be passed over to another CST department for them to look at. No doubt one or two people on here may know what I am on about.

    4. #23
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

      Quote Originally Posted by Squirelly666 View Post
      I thought that was Tier 1 (1 being best) but I guess Tier 1 means first line as in the idiots who ask you to switch filters etc. a million times before they'll put you through to CST. My mistake.
      Idiots? Nice, Tier 1 are there to do a job and follow a process laid out and demanded of them by sky. You probably spoke to CST if you got transfered, Tier 1 has no access to error reports etc so whoever told you that number of errors in a short period of time was "normal" was either "poor" as Isitme states or smoking something.

    5. #24
      Squirelly666's Avatar
      Squirelly666 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leyland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Idiots? Nice, Tier 1 are there to do a job and follow a process laid out and demanded of them by sky. You probably spoke to CST if you got transfered, Tier 1 has no access to error reports etc so whoever told you that number of errors in a short period of time was "normal" was either "poor" as Isitme states or smoking something.
      Your're right, idiots was probably a bit strong, and I know they are only following their procedure/script, but when they make you go through the same procedure 3 times in the space of 2 hours, you start to think that they're not really paying any attention.

      Once they gave me a CST ticket number, they seemed to get a little better as they just look at the file and pass me on.

      On that note, is there a phone number to get straight through to CST, rather than have to go to Tier 1 then get passed along, once they've realised the issue has already been moved up to CST? I asked the CST guy for one, wrote it down, and then hung up before I realised it was the same support number I already had.

    6. #25
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

      To be honest it comes down to bad notes if you have to do multiple filter checks, if I send someone off to do filter checks I make sure they do all offline checks in one hit so that when they call back we can move onto the final check before escalation. If the previous agents didn't make it clear that you were being asked to change filters and call back then it's a stupid mistake on their part as it just annoys customers who then get annoyed when the next agent asks them to do it again as they won't know what has been done already.
      If you have ticket reference you just call tier 1, there is no direct line to CST, the tier 1 confirms your details, checks that the ticket is still active and then just puts you through. The only time tier 1 does not directly transfer without questions is if the ticket is no longer open or of CST has asked for something to be checked before transfer.

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

      there is no direct line to CST
      That is understandable really, if there was one, who who call Tier 1? CST would be overwhelmed by newbies who did not know you were supposed to plug the router in before you tried to connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      CST would be overwhelmed by newbies who did not know you were supposed to plug the router in before you tried to connect.
      And scarily he isn't joking. The common response at that point is "No that's not what they meant when they said it was a wireless router"

    9. #28
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      And scarily he isn't joking. The common response at that point is "No that's not what they meant when they said it was a wireless router"
      I have had one of these come through to me, bit scary really

    10. #29
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

      Ive got a just as bad line as you OP

      I had 2560kbps as normal connection but i did reach 2752kbps... this was my best i ever got on sky

      2.5Mb should be achieveable on your line!

      I had enough after a year and left for o2... they have been faultless!

      Had teething problems the last 2 weeks with 2 dodgy routers.. but they have kept me updated and the bloke even phoned back 2 days later to see if everything was ok!!

      I not saying leaving sky would be your answer however i am saying 2.5Mb atleast should be achieveable on your line

    11. #30
      Squirelly666's Avatar
      Squirelly666 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leyland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to deal with Sky Broadband Problems?

      My line's been getting 2800 rock solid since it was connected (house & line were new when I moved in 2 years ago), it's just this last 2 weeks that it's gone in the toilet.

      I suspect there maybe a problem with Sky's kit in the Leyland exchange, or some problem between my estate and the exchange. I've been round to a mate of mine's house today who lives round the corner to see if I could download a few files on his connection as mine is effectively down at the moment.

      Anyway he's also with Sky (mid package) and is connected to the same exchange as me, and his speeds have also dropped sometime in the last couple of weeks. He was getting 2200 last time he checked (a couple of weeks ago) and has been since he moved in about 18 months ago, and today he's getting 450!!! He's not really noticed as he only uses it for a bit of email, and surfing and he's not tried downloading anything substantial in the last couple of weeks but I think he's going to get on to Sky to have a look at it.

      Surely it can't be a coincidence that two sky connections, to the same exchange, from the same area, have both gone slow all of a sudden.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION