Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 25 of 25

    Sky connection is slow all of sudden

    This is a discussion on Sky connection is slow all of sudden within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; 1. Did you read your welcome letter you got when you joined Sky BB ? It mentions DLM there and ...

    1. #21
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky connection is slow all of sudden

      1. Did you read your welcome letter you got when you joined Sky BB? It mentions DLM there and to NOT turn your router off for 10 days.
      2. Looks like, because of your constant turning on/off, that DLM has capped your line.

      Only way of fixing it is calling Sky...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      wrenwin's Avatar
      wrenwin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky connection is slow all of sudden

      @PaulSky,
      I have done the Test Socket yesterday.

      @ Gazz380,
      I am not sure how to reduce the noise on that line, router has been put on the main socket, and microfilter is the first device connecting to the main socket. I am not using any extension since yesterday.

      @IAmNotTheEnemy
      No, we let the router on since we moved in, never bother to switch it off.

      I have rang Sky, seems nothing can be done from my side other than waiting for them to response

    4. #23
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky connection is slow all of sudden

      in which case it's just DLM doing it's usual 'cap a line that doesn't need it cause it thinks it's seen something' scenario...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #24
      wrenwin's Avatar
      wrenwin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky connection is slow all of sudden

      Received calls from the technical solution team and the chap said that the "old" line in this property can only afford 0.5Mb download speed. After my protest, he increased the line speed to 1.2Mb. I did not push further.

      Sigh, next time if I were to move again, guess the first thing I would check is how "old" is the line

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky connection is slow all of sudden

      You are yet another with a high attenuation who has been put on ADSL2+ by DLM.. Your line would probably perform much better on G.DMT. Unfortunately someone at Sky has got it into their head that ADSL2+ must been used at all costs, never mind that its supposed superiority on a long line is purely theoretical and seldom works in practise. You should be able to get 2-3Mb on G.DMT.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION