Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Are my stats any good please?

    This is a discussion on Are my stats any good please? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I apologise in advance if my post is in the wrong section ! I'm new to Sky broadband, I'm ex ...

    1. #1
      markf's Avatar
      markf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leyland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Are my stats any good please?

      I apologise in advance if my post is in the wrong section ! I'm new to Sky broadband, I'm ex cable running a 20mb connection - and miss it ! Are these stats any good please, I used the ping tool from this site to get the data. I have the Netgear DG934G as supplied from Sky. Thanks for any help or tweaks which may come my way.
      Regards,
      Mark.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4701073 8199083 0 2836 40627 24:00:53
      LAN 100M/Full 8772619 5026149 0 2546 305 453:26:34
      WLAN 11M/54M 10644336 9940457 0 834 1018 453:17:10
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11260 kbps 792 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32 db 19 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 4 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Are my stats any good please?

      Stats look ok, you need to let DLM run for 10+ days for it to stabilise your line.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Are my stats any good please?

      You will have to wait as Smithy says, but you should get 12-13Mbs in the end.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      briancst1's Avatar
      briancst1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIBYS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my stats any good please?

      FOR A Line Attenuation 32 db your line should be able to get Attainable Rate (ADSL2+) -13828 kb/s
      as you know this depends on your setup as well and let DLM finish

    6. #5
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my stats any good please?

      After DLM has finished if you are not happy with the speed it has left you with you can phone sky and ask to be put through to CST and they will increase the speed for you, best to ring after 10.30pm.

      And i also notice that your upstream noise margin is on the low side, can you post the stats from the test socket if you have one to rule out any internal problems causing it.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Are my stats any good please?

      Andy, DLM is still running, the upstream and downstream will vary until it has finished. Best to leave it alone until it's done, speeds, attenuation and NM all look normal.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION